- Code of Virginia
- Virginia Administrative Code
- Constitution of Virginia
- Uncodified Acts
- RIS Users (account required)
- Bills & Resolutions
- Bill Summaries
- Reports to the General Assembly
House and Senate documents
Developed and maintained by the Division of Legislative Automated Systems.
SB 415 Emancipation petition for minors intending to marry; written findings.
SUMMARY AS PASSED: (all summaries)
Legal age for marriage; 18 years of age. Provides that both parties to a marriage must be 18 years of age or older or emancipated at the time of solemnization by removing exceptions that allow marriage at a minimum age of 16 with the consent of the parent or guardian or younger than 16 in the case of pregnancy and with the consent of the parent or guardian and provides that marriages entered into in violation of this law are voidable. The bill also allows a minor to petition the juvenile and domestic relations district court for emancipation based on such minor's desire to enter into a marriage. The bill provides that, to allow emancipation based on such minor's desire to enter into a marriage, the court must make certain written findings, including that it is the minor's own will to enter into the marriage, that the individuals to be married are mature enough to make a decision to marry, that the marriage will not endanger the safety of the minor, and that it is in the best interests of the minor to be emancipated. This bill is identical to HB 703.