1998 SESSION

986299736

1

2

3

8 9

10 11

SENATE BILL NO. 335

Offered January 21, 1998

A BILL to amend and reenact § 6, as amended, of Chapter 693 of the Acts of Assembly of 1954, relating to the appointment and removal of members of the Chesapeake Bay Bridge and Tunnel Commission.

Patrons-Schrock, Forbes, Quayle, Stolle and Williams

Referred to the Committee on Transportation

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of Virginia:

12 1. That § 6, as amended, of Chapter 693 of the Acts of Assembly of 1954 is amended and 13 reenacted as follows:

14 § 6. Chesapeake Bay Bridge and Tunnel Commission.—A Commission, to be known as the 15 "Chesapeake Bay Bridge and Tunnel Commission"," is hereby created as the governing board of the 16 Chesapeake Bay Bridge and Tunnel District created by this act. The Commission shall consist of the 17 following eleven members, including a member of the State Highway Comission appointed by the Governor for a term of five years and ten members who shall be appointed as follows: One member 18 from each of the counties of Accomack and Northampton and one additional member from either the 19 20 county of Accomack or the county of Northampton, who shall be appointed by the Judge of the Circuit 21 Courts for the aforesaid counties; one member from the county of Princess Anne or the city of Virginia 22 Beach, who shall be appointed by the Judge of the Circuit Court of the county of Princess Anne; one 23 member from the county of Norfolk or the city of South Norfolk who shall be appointed by the Judge 24 of the Circuit Court of the county of Norfolk; one member from the city of Hampton to be appointed by 25 the Senior Judge in time of service of the Courts of Records of the city of Hampton; and one member 26 from that portion of the consolidated city of Newport News which formerly constituted the city 27 Warwick; and one member from that portion of the consolidated city of Newport News which formerly 28 constituted the city of Newport News, each of whom shall be appointed by the judges in banc of the 29 Courts of Records of the said consolidated city of Newport News; one member from the city of Norfolk 30 who shall be appointed by the Judge of the Corporation Court of the City of Norfolk; and one member from the city of Portsmouth who shall be appointed by the Judge of the The Court of Hustings for the 31 32 City of Portsmouth.: (i) one member of the Commonwealth Transportation Board, (ii) one member from 33 Accomack County, (iii) one member from Northampton County, (iv) one additional member from either 34 Accomack County or Northampton County, (v) one member from the City of Portsmouth, (vi) one 35 member from the City of Chesapeake, (vii) one member from the City of Hampton, (viii) one member 36 from the City of Newport News, (ix) one member from the City of Virginia Beach, (x) one member from 37 the City of Norfolk, and (xi) one additional member from either the City of Virginia Beach or the City 38 of Norfolk. The members of said Commission appointed under the provisions of this section shall be 39 residents of the counties or cities from which they are appointed and may be appointed by the respective 40 judges in term time or vacation.

41 The seven members of the Commission from the counties Accomack, Northampton, and Princess 42 Anne and the cities of Hampton, Warwick, Newport News and Norfolk shall determine by lot the duration of their respective initial terms of office which shall be for one, two, three, four, five, six, and 43 44 seven years, respectively, from May 14, 1954. The additional member appointed from either the county of Accomack or the county of Northampton, the member appointed from the county of Norfolk or the 45 city of South Norfolk and the member appointed from the city of Portsmouth shall serve for terms 46 expiring on May 14, 1957, May 14, 1958 and May 14, 1959, respectively. Thereafter the appointments 47 **48** shall be for period of five years and in the event of a vacancy occurring the court involved shall fill 49 such vacancy for the unexpired term. Any member of the Commission shall be eligible for 50 reappointment.

51 Any member of the Commission appointed or reappointed on or after July 1, 1998, shall be 52 appointed by the Governor, subject to confirmation by each house of the General Assembly. Commission 53 members shall be appointed to five-year terms, and any member of the Commission shall be eligible for 54 reappointment. When a vacancy in the membership occurs, the Governor shall appoint a new member to 55 complete the unexpired portion of the term, subject to confirmation by each house of the General 56 Assembly.

57 The Commission shall select a chairman annually from its membership. Within thirty days after the 58 appointment of the original members of the Commission, the Commission shall meet on the call of any 59 member and elect one of its members as chairman and another as vice-chairman, and the. The 60 Commission shall employ a secretary and treasurer (who may or may not be a member of the 61 Commission) and if not a member of the Commission, fix his compensation and duties. Any member of 62 the Commission may be removed from office for cause by the court appointing him Governor. Each member of the Commission, immediately following his appointment shall take an oath of office, 63 64 prescribed by § 34 Article II, Section 7 of the Constitution of Virginia, before any judge of any court of 65 record in this State. No member of the Commission shall receive any salary but shall be entitled to 66 expenses and the per diem pay allowed members of the Highway Commission Commonwealth Transportation Board. Six members of the Commission shall constitute a quorum. The records of the 67 Commission shall be public records. The Commission is authorized to do all things necessary or 68 69 incidental to the performance of its duties and the execution of its powers under this act. The route for 70 any bridge or tunnel or combination thereof, built by the Commission, shall be selected, subject to the 71 approval of the State Highway Commission Commonwealth Transportation Board.

72 Notwithstanding any provisions of this Chapter, the present membership of the commission, as of 73 March 6, 1956, shall not be enlarged before and until July 1, 1957.