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DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION 
2024 Fiscal Impact Statement 

 
1.  Patron Angelia Williams Graves 2. Bill Number SB 517 
  House of Origin: 
3.  Committee Senate Finance and Appropriations  X Introduced 
   Substitute 
    Engrossed 
4.  Title Recordation Tax and Property Tax;  

Certain Confederate Organizations 
 

  Second House: 
   In Committee 
   Substitute 
   Enrolled 

 
5. Summary/Purpose:   

 
This bill would eliminate the recordation tax exemption for the Virginia Division of the United 
Daughters of the Confederacy. The bill would also eliminate the tax-exempt designation for 
real and personal property owned by the Virginia Division of the United Daughters of the 
Confederacy and the General Organization of the United Daughters of the Confederacy. 
 
Under current law, the state recordation tax does not apply to any deed conveying real 
estate or the lease of real estate to the Virginia Division of the United Daughters of the 
Confederacy.  Real and personal property owned by the Virginia Division of United 
Daughters of the Confederacy or the General Organization of the United Daughters of the 
Confederacy are also currently exempt from taxation. 
 
If enacted during the regular session of the 2024 General Assembly this bill would become 
effective July 1, 2024. 
 

6. Budget amendment necessary:  No. 
 
7. Fiscal Impact Estimates are:  Not available.  (See Line 8.) 
 
8. Fiscal implications:   

 
Administrative Costs 
 
This bill could have an unknown impact on local administrative costs but would have no 
impact on state costs. 
 
Revenue Impact 
 
This bill would have an unknown positive impact to state and local revenues to the extent 
that deeds conveying real estate or the lease of real estate to the Virginia Division of the 
United Daughters of the Confederacy become subject to the state recordation tax and the 
local recordation tax.  
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This bill would have an unknown impact on local revenues to the extent that real and 
personal property owned by the Virginia Division of United Daughters of the Confederacy 
or the General Organization of the United Daughters of the Confederacy is now subject to 
local taxation.  
 

9. Specific agency or political subdivisions affected:   
 
Department of Taxation 
 

10. Technical amendment necessary:  No. 
 

11. Other comments:   
 
Recordation Tax 
 
Under current law, every deed or deed of trust or lease admitted to record, except a deed 
exempt from taxation by law, is subject to a state recordation tax. Generally, the tax is 
imposed in the amount of $0.25 per $100 or fraction thereof of the consideration of the deed 
or the actual value of the property conveyed, whichever is greater. An additional recordation 
tax may be imposed by cities and counties in an amount equal to one-third of the state tax. 
 
Deeds conveying real estate or the lease of real estate to the Virginia Division of the United 
Daughters of the Confederacy are specifically exempted from state recordation tax. 
 
Property Exempt from Taxation by Designation 
 
Article X, Section 6(a)(6) of the Constitution of Virginia provides that property used by its 
owner for religious, charitable, patriotic, historical, benevolent, cultural, or public park and 
playground purposes shall be exempt from state and local taxation. Code of Virginia § 58.1 
– 3607 (A)(1) enumerates the organizations that would be exempt from taxation pursuant 
to this Constitutional authority, including the Virginia Division of United Daughters of the 
Confederacy and the General Organization of the United Daughters of the Confederacy.   
 
Proposal 
 
This bill would eliminate the recordation tax exemption for the Virginia Division of the United 
Daughters of the Confederacy.  The bill would also eliminate the tax-exempt designation 
for real and personal property owned by the Virginia Division of the United Daughters of the 
Confederacy and the General Organization of the United Daughters of the Confederacy. 
 
If enacted during the regular session of the 2024 General Assembly this bill would become 
effective July 1, 2024. 

 
Similar Legislation 
 
House Bill 568 is identical to this bill. 
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House Bill 574 would provide that for purposes of recordation taxes, the value of a property 
interest conveyed shall be the most recent property tax assessment for such property at the 
time the property is conveyed. 
 
House Bill 1297 would provide that beginning July 1, 2026, after required distributions for 
transportation and localities under current law, up to $200 million of the remaining 
recordation tax revenues shall be distributed for specified land protection and preservation 
purposes. 
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