2.

Department of Planning and Budget
2024 Session Fiscal Impact Statement

Bill Number: SB327S1
House of Origin [] Introduced X] Substitute [] Engrossed
Second House [[] InCommittee [ ] Substitute [ ] Enrolled

Patron: Salim

3. Committee: Court of Justice

4.

Title: Purchase of firearms; age requirement; penalty.

Summary: This bill prohibits any person under 21 years of age from purchasing a firearm,
with exceptions for the purchase of a rifle or shotgun by a law-enforcement officer,
correctional officer, jail officer, member of the Armed Forces of the United States, the
Virginia National Guard, or the National Guard of any other state. Accordingly, the bill
prohibits a licensed dealer from selling, renting, trading, or transferring from his inventory a
firearm to any person under 21 years of age, with the same exceptions. A violation of either
prohibition is a Class 6 felony. The bill also expands the definition of "assault firearm" as the
term applies to criminal history record information checks.

Budget Amendment Necessary: Yes, Item 390 (DOC) and Item 415 (VSP).
Fiscal Impact Estimates: Preliminary, see Item 8 below.

Fiscal Implications: The Department of State Police (VSP), which oversees the Firearms
Transaction Program, anticipates a fiscal impact as a result of the legislation. This bill would
require VSP to procure new SP-65 Firearms Purchase Forms, at a cost of $9,910.32, which
VSP believes the agency can absorb. However, the agency believes it would need additional
resources to update the agency’s VCheck?2 system to include the new age requirement and
certain exceptions outlined in the bill. The agency estimates a one-time cost of $111,200 in
general fund. Because it expands the potential applicability of existing felony offenses and
creates a new felony offense, the proposal may increase the future state-responsible (prison)
bed space needs of the Commonwealth. However, existing databases do not provide
sufficient detail to estimate the number of new felony convictions likely to result from
enactment of the proposal. Therefore, the magnitude of the impact on prison bed space needs
cannot be quantified. Due to the lack of data, the Virginia Criminal Sentencing Commission
has concluded, pursuant to §30-19.1:4 of the Code of Virginia, that the impact of the
proposed legislation on state-responsible (prison) bed space cannot be determined. In such
cases, Chapter 1, 2023 Acts of Assembly, Special Session I, requires that a minimum impact
of $50,000 be assigned to the bill.



Similarly, the proposal may increase local-responsible (jail) bed space needs; however, the
magnitude of the impact cannot be determined. There is not enough information available to
reliably estimate the increase in jail population as a result of this proposal. However, any
increase in jail population will increase costs to the state. The Commonwealth currently pays
the localities $5.00 a day for each misdemeanant or otherwise local-responsible prisoner held
in a jail and $15.00 a day for each state-responsible prisoner. It also funds a considerable
portion of the jails’ operating costs, e.g., correctional officers. The state’s share of these
costs on a per prisoner, per day basis varies from locality to locality. However, according to
the Compensation Board’s most recent Jail Cost Report (November 2023), the estimated total
state support for local jails averaged $45.76 per inmate, per day in FY 2022.

9. Specific Agency or Political Subdivisions Affected: Courts, Department of State Police,
local law enforcement agencies, Department of corrections, Commonwealth’s Attorneys,
Office of Public Defenders, and local and regional jails.

10. Technical Amendment Necessary: No.

11. Other Comments: None.



