Department of Planning and Budget
2024 Session Fiscal Impact Statement

. Bill Number: HB39
House of Origin  [X| Introduced [] Substitute [] Engrossed
Second House [] InCommittee [ | Substitute [ ] Enrolled

Patron: Ware
. Committee: Committee Referral Pending
Title: Sex offenders; contributing to the delinquency of a minor, penalty.

Summary: The proposed legislation amends § 18.2-371 to create a new felony for those who
engage in consensual sexual acts with a minor while required to register with the Sex
Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry. The proposed legislation provides that any
person 18 years of age or older who is required to register as a sex offender to engage in
consensual sexual intercourse or anal intercourse with, or perform cunnilingus, fellatio, or
anilingus upon or by a child 15 or older who is not his spouse, child, or grandchild will be
guilty of Class 6 felony.

. Budget Amendment Necessary: Yes, Item 390
. Fiscal Impact Estimates: Preliminary, see Item 8 below.

. Fiscal Implications: Virginia State Police (VSP) oversees the Sex Offender and Crimes
Against Minors Registry. The agency does not anticipate a fiscal impact as a result of this
proposed legislation.

According to the Virginia Criminal Sentencing Commission, existing data sources do not
contain sufficient detail to estimate the number of additional Class 6 felony convictions for
engaging in consensual sexual acts with a minor while required to register as a sex offender.
For someone convicted of a Class 6 felony, a judge has the option of sentencing the offender
to a term of imprisonment of not less than one year nor more than five years, or in the
discretion of the jury or the court trying the case without a jury, confinement in jail for not
more than 12 months and a fine of not more than $2,500, either or both. Therefore, this
proposal could result in an increase in the number of persons sentenced to jail or prison.

There is not enough information available to reliably estimate the increase in jail population
as a result of this proposal. However, any increase in jail population will increase costs to the
state. The Commonwealth currently pays the localities $5.00 a day for each misdemeanant or
otherwise local-responsible prisoner held in a jail and $15.00 a day for each state-responsible
prisoner. It also funds a considerable portion of the jails’ operating costs, e.g., correctional
officers. The state’s share of these costs on a per prisoner, per day basis varies from locality
to locality. However, according to the Compensation Board’s most recent Jail Cost Report



(November 2023), the estimated total state support for local jails averaged $45.76 per inmate,
per day in FY 2022.

Due to the lack of data, the Virginia Criminal Sentencing Commission has concluded,
pursuant to §30-19.1:4 of the Code of Virginia, that the impact of the proposed legislation on
state-responsible (prison) bed space cannot be determined. In such cases, Chapter 1, 2023
Acts of Assembly, Special Session I, requires that a minimum impact of $50,000 be assigned
to the bill.

9. Specific Agency or Political Subdivisions Affected: Courts, local and state law
enforcement agencies, Public Defender’s Offices, Commonwealth’s Attorneys, and
Department of Corrections.

10. Technical Amendment Necessary: No.

11. Other Comments: None.



