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1. Bill Number:   HB351 

 House of Origin  Introduced  Substitute  Engrossed  

 Second House  In Committee    Substitute  Enrolled 
 

2. Patron: Clark 
 
3.  Committee: Public Safety 
 
4. Title: Firearm locking device required for purchase of a firearm; households where minor 

resides; penalty. 
 

5. Summary: The proposal requires any person who purchases a firearm to either (i) purchase a 
locking device for such firearm if such person resides in the same household as a minor, or 
(ii) complete a certification statement on a form provided by the Department of State Police, 
under penalty of perjury, certifying that he does not reside in the same household as a minor, 
with exceptions enumerated in the bill. In addition, the bill provides that it is unlawful for 
any licensed manufacturer, licensed importer, or licensed dealer to sell, deliver, or transfer 
any firearm to any person other than a licensed manufacturer, licensed importer, or licensed 
dealer, unless the transferee (i) purchases a locking device for such firearm if such person 
resides in the same household as a minor, or (ii) completes a certification statement, under 
penalty of perjury, certifying that he does not reside in the same household as a minor. A 
violation of either provision is punishable as a Class 1 misdemeanor. 

 
6. Budget Amendment Necessary: Yes, Item 390.  
  
7. Fiscal Impact Estimates: Preliminary, see Item 8 below.  
 
8. Fiscal Implications: The Department of State Police oversees the Firearms Transaction 

Program. The agency estimates the fiscal impact of this proposal to be one-time cost of 
$89,208 in FY 2025 for the development and update the V-Check forms to firearms dealers. 
However, the agency is expected to absorb this one-time cost.  

 

The proposed bill expands the applicability of an existing Class 5 felony, and as a result it 
may increase the state-responsible (prison) bed space needs of the Commonwealth. However, 
according to Virginia Criminal Sentencing Commission, existing data sources do not contain 
sufficient detail to estimate the number of additional Class 5 felony convictions due to 
expanding applicability of existing felonies. Due to the lack of data, the Virginia Criminal 
Sentencing Commission has concluded, pursuant to §30-19.1:4 of the Code of Virginia, that 
the impact of the proposed legislation on state-responsible (prison) bed space cannot be 
determined. In such cases, Chapter 1, 2023 Acts of Assembly, Special Session I, requires that 
a minimum impact of $50,000 be assigned to the bill. 

 



By expanding a felony and creating new Class 1 misdemeanors, the proposal may increase 
the need for local-responsible (jail) bed space needs. The number of additional convictions 
that may result from the proposal cannot be estimated; therefore, the magnitude of the impact 
on jail bed space needs cannot be determined. 

However, any increase in jail population will increase costs to the state. The Commonwealth 
currently pays the localities $5.00 a day for each misdemeanant or otherwise local-
responsible prisoner held in a jail and $15.00 a day for each state-responsible prisoner. It also 
funds a considerable portion of the jails’ operating costs, e.g., correctional officers. The 
state’s share of these costs on a per prisoner, per day basis varies from locality to locality. 
However, according to the Compensation Board’s most recent Jail Cost Report (November 
2023), the estimated total state support for local jails averaged $45.76 per inmate, per day in 
FY 2022. 

 

9. Specific Agency or Political Subdivisions Affected: Department of Corrections, 
Commonwealth’s Attorneys, Office of Public Defender, Court, state and local law 
enforcement agencies, local and regional jails. 

  
10. Technical Amendment Necessary: No. 
  
11. Other Comments: None.  


