
Department of Planning and Budget 
2024 Session Fiscal Impact Statement 

 

1. Bill Number:   HB196 

 House of Origin  Introduced  Substitute  Engrossed  

 Second House  In Committee    Substitute  Enrolled 
 

2. Patron: Thomas 

 

3.  Committee: General Laws 

 

4. Title: Virginia Residential Landlord and Tenant Act; noncompliance with rental 

agreement, grace period. 

 

5. Summary:  Provides that if a landlord owns more than four rental dwelling units or more 

than a 10 percent interest in more than four rental dwelling units, whether individually or 

through a business entity, in the Commonwealth, and a tenant named on the rental agreement 

is 65 years of age or older, the landlord may only terminate the rental agreement and proceed 

to obtain possession of the premises under the Virginia Residential Landlord and Tenant Act 

if such tenant fails to pay rent within 14 days after written notice is served on the tenant. 

Current law only provides a five-day grace period for such termination and applies such grace 

period to all tenants regardless of age. 

 

6. Budget Amendment Necessary:  No.  

  

7. Fiscal Impact Estimates:  Preliminary. See item 8.  

 

8. Fiscal Implications:  The Department of Housing and Community Development has no 

oversight or administrative obligations regarding the Virginia Residential Landlord and 

Tenant Act. The department does update and publish on its website the Landlord Tenant 

Handbook. Any legislative changes made to the Act will be updated, but the department can 

do so using current resources. 

 

9. Specific Agency or Political Subdivisions Affected:  Department of Housing and 

Community Development. 

  

10. Technical Amendment Necessary:  No. 

  

11. Other Comments:  None. 
 


