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1. Bill Number:   HB1892 H1 

 House of Origin ☐ Introduced ☒ Substitute ☐ Engrossed  

 Second House ☐ In Committee ☐   Substitute ☐ Enrolled 
 

2. Patron: Ballard 
 
3.  Committee:  Courts of Justice      
 
4. Title: Abduction of a minor; penalty. 

 
5. Summary:   Current law defines several offenses in Article 3 (Kidnapping and Related 

Offenses) of Chapter 4 of Title 18.2. Penalties for offenses defined in Article 3 range from a 
Class 3 misdemeanor for violation of a custody or visitation court order to several Class 2 
felonies, including abduction with intent to defile. Certain abduction offenses in Article 3 are 
specific to minors, such as abducting a minor for purposes of manufacturing child 
pornography, which is a Class 2 felony defined in § 18.2-48(v). Abduction for which no 
punishment is otherwise prescribed is a Class 5 felony. 

 
 This bill makes abduction of a minor a Class 2 felony, except if defined under § 18.2-47(D), 

which provides that an abduction committed by a parent is punishable as a Class 1 
misdemeanor in addition to being punishable as contempt of court and punishable as a Class 
6 felony in addition to being punishable as contempt of court if the parent abducts and 
removes the child from the Commonwealth. 

6. Budget Amendment Necessary:  Yes, Item 404 
  
7. Fiscal Impact Estimates:  Preliminary. See Item 8 below. 
 
8. Fiscal Implications:  This bill increases the penalty for certain kidnapping offenses to a 

Class 2 Felony, which is punishable by imprisonment for 20 years to life and a fine of up to 
$100,000.  

 
 According to the Virginia Criminal Sentencing Commission, data is available on the number 

of felony kidnapping convictions under the various sections of the Code of Virginia. 
However, because victim age is not recorded in the Court Case Management Systems 
(CMS), existing data sources do not contain sufficient detail to estimate the number of 
offenders who would be subject to a Class 2 felony under the proposal who are not already 
covered by a Class 2 felony defined in current law. Therefore, the magnitude of the impact 
on prison beds cannot be quantified. 

 
 Due to the lack of data, the Virginia Criminal Sentencing Commission has concluded, 

pursuant to §30-19.1:4 of the Code of Virginia, that the impact of the proposed legislation on 



state-responsible (prison) bed space cannot be determined.  In such cases, Chapter 2, 2022 
Acts of Assembly, Special Session I, requires that a minimum impact of $50,000 be assigned 
to the bill. 

 
 According to the Virginia Criminal Sentencing Commission, this bill may also increase 

local-responsible (jail) bed space needs. However, there is not enough information available 
to reliably estimate the impact on jail or prison bed space needs as a result of this proposal. 
The Commonwealth currently pays the localities $15.00 a day for each state-responsible 
prisoner held in a jail. 

  

9. Specific Agency or Political Subdivisions Affected:  Department of Corrections, Local and  
 regional jails, Commonwealth Attorneys, Public Defender Offices, courts 
  
10. Technical Amendment Necessary:  No 
  
11. Other Comments:  None 


