2023 SESSION

23107291D

1

2

3

4

5

SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 166

Offered February 22, 2023

Commending Michael Louis Chapman.

Patrons-Boysko, Deeds, Ebbin, Edwards, Favola, Howell, Ruff and Vogel

6 WHEREAS, Michael Louis Chapman, an esteemed law-enforcement officer and sheriff of Loudoun 7 County, will be presented the 2023 Ferris E. Lucas Sheriff of the Year award at the Annual Conference of the National Sheriffs' Association in Grand Rapids, Michigan; and 8

9 WHEREAS, citing his approach to leadership, stewardship, and innovation, the National Sheriffs' Association has recognized Michael "Mike" Chapman with the National Sheriff of the Year award for 10 his efforts to elevate the Office of Sheriff on the local, state, and national level and for his extraordinary 11 12 involvement in the community; and

WHEREAS, Mike Chapman was elected sheriff of Loudoun County in November 2011 and has since 13 14 been reelected in 2015 and 2019; he oversees the largest full-service sheriff's office in the 15 Commonwealth, with more than 600 sworn deputies and 200 civilian personnel; and

16 WHEREAS, during his tenure as sheriff, Mike Chapman has implemented several initiatives that have had a positive and transformative impact on the community, including his Step-Up initiative to 17 promote service, technology, efficiency, and professionalism agency-wide; and 18

19 WHEREAS, Mike Chapman has provided invaluable leadership to several law-enforcement boards and organizations to include serving as vice president of Homeland Security for the Major County 20 Sheriffs of America and as chair of the Washington/Baltimore High Intensity Trafficking Area Executive 21 Board; and on the National Sheriffs' Association Board of Directors and the Criminal Justice Services Board of the Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services; and 22 23

24 WHEREAS, with the support of his peers, Mike Chapman was selected to serve as the Region VI 25 director of the Virginia Sheriffs' Association Board of Directors, and he is currently serving on the 26 organization's Legislative Committee and has served on its Congressional Committee; and

27 WHEREAS, Mike Chapman has been a tireless advocate for preserving sheriffs' offices across the 28 country, helping to ensure that citizens maintain their right to elect their chief law-enforcement officer; 29 now, therefore, be it

30 RESOLVED by the Senate of Virginia, That Michael Louis Chapman, sheriff of Loudoun County, 31 hereby be commended for receiving the 2023 Ferris E. Lucas Sheriff of the Year award from the 32 National Sheriffs' Association; and, be it

33 RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the Senate prepare a copy of this resolution for 34 presentation to Michael Louis Chapman as an expression of the Senate of Virginia's admiration for his 35 achievements in service to the Commonwealth.

SR166