SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 114

Commending the 2023 inductees into the Virginia Sports Hall of Fame.

Agreed to by the Senate, February 2, 2023

WHEREAS, in 1996, the Virginia Sports Hall of Fame was designated the official Sports Hall of Fame of the Commonwealth; and

WHEREAS, the Virginia Sports Hall of Fame, located in Virginia Beach, has honored hundreds of Virginia's exceptional athletes, coaches, and media personalities since its inception; and

WHEREAS, the Virginia Sports Hall of Fame celebrates athletic excellence in the Commonwealth, highlights philanthropy through sports, and inspires sports fans through engaging and entertaining programs; and

WHEREAS, the Virginia Sports Hall of Fame will celebrate its 50th Induction Weekend by honoring the Class of 2023 and the 2023 Distinguished Virginian Award recipient on Saturday, April 22, 2023; and

WHEREAS, the Virginia Sports Hall of Fame is honored to present the Class of 2023 inductees as follows:

The Class of 2023

DeAngelo Hall

DeAngelo Hall graduated from Deep Creek High School in Chesapeake and went on to become a first team All-American defensive back for the Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University football team in the early 2000s. He was drafted by the Atlanta Falcons with the eighth overall pick in the first round of the 2004 National Football League (NFL) Draft and went on to play 14 seasons in the NFL with the Atlanta Falcons, the Oakland Raiders, and the Washington Commanders. A three-time Pro Bowl selection, he recorded 43 interceptions, forced 11 fumbles, and scored 10 defensive touchdowns over the course of his career. He has previously been inducted into the Virginia Tech Sports Hall of Fame and has been recognized as one of the Commanders 90 Greatest Players of All-Time.

Jimmye Laycock

Originally from Loudoun County, Jimmye Laycock attended Loudoun Valley High School, earning 12 varsity letters before heading to The College of William and Mary, where he quarterbacked the Tribe football team in the late 1960s. After a decade as an assistant coach, he returned to his alma mater in 1980 as head coach and led the football program for the next 39 seasons, amassing 249 wins, seven conference championships, and 10 National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Football Championship Subdivision playoff appearances. He has previously been inducted into the Hampton Roads Sports Hall of Fame.

Francena McCorory

Francena McCorory grew up in Hampton and graduated from Bethel High School, where she starred on the indoor and outdoor track teams, setting numerous Virginia High School League indoor and outdoor track and field records. Running for her hometown Hampton University Pirates, McCorory would win three NCAA Championships in the 400-meter dash and be named a four-time NCAA All-American. After college her success continued on the international level where she represented her country in the 2012 and 2016 Summer Olympic Games, bringing home the gold both years as a member of the 4x400-meter relay teams.

Shawn Moore

A Martinsville native, Shawn Moore attended Martinsville High School before committing to play football for the University of Virginia (UVA). During his three seasons under center for the Cavaliers, he rewrote the offensive record books. He finished his career in 1990 holding 41 school, Atlantic Coast Conference, and NCAA individual records, and his 83 total touchdowns still stand as a school record to this day. As the 1990 ACC Player of the Year, he led the Cavaliers to the program's first ever national number one ranking and finished fourth in the voting for the Heisman Trophy in 1990. His career statistics include 6,629 passing yards and 55 touchdowns and 1,268 rushing yards with 28 touchdowns.

Jerry Ratcliffe

Jerry Ratcliffe has been a longtime fixture in sports media in Central Virginia, with a focus on UVA athletics. Over the course of four decades at the *Daily Progress*, he was selected as Virginia Sportswriter of the Year four times and received numerous other recognitions from the Associated Press Sports Editors Association, the Virginia Press Association, the Football Writers of America, and the United States Basketball Writers of America. He has also been recognized for his golf coverage with the prestigious Earle Hellen Sports Media Award by the Middle Atlantic Section of the PGA of America. Since 2018, he has managed and provided content on UVA Athletics through his website,

JerryRatcliffe.com.

Bob Rotanz

Bob Rotanz came to Roanoke College in the mid-1970s and immediately enhanced the Maroons' rich lacrosse tradition. A three-time All-American during his time at Roanoke College, he is one of just two players in school history to earn National Player of the Year honors, doing so in 1978. In the same year, he was named National Defensive Player of the Year and helped lead Roanoke College to the NCAA Championship by scoring the winning goal in the title game. He is a 2022 recipient of the Roanoke College medal, the highest honor awarded by the institution.

Sheila Trice-Myers

A graduate of Louisa County High School in Mineral, Sheila Trice-Myers matriculated at Christopher Newport University (CNU), where she set numerous school and NCAA records. During her four years on the Peninsula, she became one of the most decorated athletes in NCAA track and field history, finishing her career with 32 All-American honors and 15 national championships. Her first national title came in 1987 as part of CNU's winning 4x100-meter relay team. She continued to set the track on fire, winning four more national titles in 1988, six in 1989, and four in 1990. She remains the NCAA Division III record holder in the 55-meter indoor hurdles.

Ryan Zimmerman

A native of Virginia Beach, Ryan Zimmerman achieved success at all levels of baseball. He is an inductee into the UVA Baseball Hall of Fame, ranks in the top 10 in multiple offensive categories in Cavaliers history, and was a 2005 All-ACC and All-American selection. He became the first ever draft pick in Washington Nationals history when the franchise selected him 4th overall in the 2005 Major League Baseball entry draft. After 16 seasons, he retired as the franchise leader in hits (1,846), home runs (284), RBI (1,061), and games played (1,799). Nicknamed "Mr. National," the two-time National League All-Star helped lead the Nationals to its first World Series title in 2019 and his number 11 jersey has been retired by the team.

WHEREAS, the Virginia Sports Hall of Fame is also honored to present the 2023 Distinguished Virginian Award recipient:

Joe Montgomery

Joe Montgomery grew up in Lynchburg, where he graduated from Brookville High School, and in the 1970s, he became a standout center for The College of William and Mary football team. The 1973 All-American and 1985 William and Mary Athletics Hall of Fame inductee has experienced success both on and off the field. His commitment to his alma mater and the greater community has seen him appointed to The College of William and Mary Board of Visitors, Colonial Williamsburg Foundation Board of Trustees, and Virginia Retirement System Board of Trustees, among others. In 2017, he was presented with the Gerald R. Ford Legends Award by the Rimington Trophy for his significant contributions to the football and business communities and his philanthropic endeavors; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the Senate of Virginia, That DeAngelo Hall, Jimmye Laycock, Francena McCorory, Shawn Moore, Jerry Ratcliffe, Bob Rotanz, Sheila Trice-Myers, Ryan Zimmerman, and Joe Montgomery hereby be commended for their outstanding achievements in athletics and philanthropy; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the Senate prepare copies of this resolution for presentation to the Virginia Sports Hall of Fame and its 2023 inductees as an expression of the Senate of Virginia's congratulations and admiration for their many contributions to the world of sports.