## 1/18/24 15:55

23105700D

## **SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 336**

Offered February 14, 2023

Establishing a commission for the continuing preservation and development of the Virginia Women's Monument.

Patrons—Locke; Delegate: Mullin

Unanimous consent to introduce

Referred to Committee on Rules

WHEREAS, Senate Joint Resolution No. 11 (2010) established a commemorative commission to honor the contributions of the women of Virginia with a monument on the grounds of Capitol Square, which became known as the Virginia Women's Monument Commission; and

WHEREAS, on October 14, 2019, the Virginia Women's Monument Commission formally dedicated seven statues representing Anne Burras Laydon, Cockacoeske, Mary Draper Ingles, Elizabeth Keckly, Laura Copenhaver, Virginia Randolph, and Adèle Clark; and

WHEREAS, statues of Martha Washington, Clementina Rind, Sarah G. Jones, and Maggie L. Walker have since been installed at the site; and

WHEREAS, having unveiled 11 statues and the Wall of Honor, which recognizes hundreds of women who have shaped Virginia's history, the Women's Monument Commission has fulfilled its purpose; however, the continued maintenance and development of the Virginia Women's Monument site must be ensured; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the Senate, the House of Delegates concurring, That a commission for the continuing preservation and development of the Virginia Women's Monument be established; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the commission consist of a total of eight members as follows: one member of the Senate appointed by the Senate Committee on Rules; one member of the House of Delegates appointed by the Speaker of the House of Delegates; the Clerk of the Senate; the Clerk of the House of Delegates; two nonlegislative citizen members, one of whom shall be appointed by the Senate Committee on Rules and one of whom shall be appointed by the Speaker of the House of Delegates; the Director of the Department of General Services; and the Librarian of Virginia; and, be it

RESOLVED FÎNALLY, That the commission meet annually to review names submitted for inclusion on the Wall of Honor. Names shall be added to the Wall of Honor every five years, beginning in 2023. Staffing shall be provided by the Senate Clerk's Office.