HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 457

Commending Michael Louis Chapman.

Agreed to by the House of Delegates, February 24, 2023

WHEREAS, Michael Louis Chapman, an esteemed law-enforcement officer and sheriff of Loudoun County, will be presented the 2023 Ferris E. Lucas Sheriff of the Year award at the Annual Conference of the National Sheriffs' Association in Grand Rapids, Michigan; and

WHEREAS, citing his approach to leadership, stewardship, and innovation, the National Sheriffs' Association has recognized Michael "Mike" Louis Chapman with the National Sheriff of the Year award for his efforts to elevate the Office of Sheriff on the local, state, and national level and for his extraordinary involvement in the community; and

WHEREAS, Mike Chapman was elected sheriff of Loudoun County in November 2011 and has since been reelected in 2015 and 2019; he oversees the largest full-service sheriff's office in the Commonwealth, with more than 600 sworn deputies and 200 civilian personnel; and

WHEREAS, during his tenure as sheriff, Mike Chapman has implemented several initiatives that have had a positive and transformative impact on the community, including his STEP-Up initiative to promote service, technology, efficiency, and professionalism agency-wide; and

WHEREAS, Mike Chapman has provided invaluable leadership to several law-enforcement boards and organizations, including serving as the vice president of Homeland Security for the Major County Sheriffs of America and as chair of the Washington Baltimore High Intensity Trafficking Area Executive Board and on the National Sheriffs' Association Board of Directors and the Criminal Justice Services Board of the Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services; and

WHEREAS, with the support of his peers, Mike Chapman was selected to serve as the Region VI director of the Virginia Sheriffs' Association Board of Directors, and he is currently serving on the organization's Legislative Committee and has served on its Congressional Committee; and

WHEREAS, Mike Chapman has been a tireless advocate for preserving sheriffs' offices across the country, helping to ensure that citizens maintain their right to elect their chief law-enforcement officer; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, That Michael Louis Chapman, sheriff of Loudoun County, hereby be commended for receiving the 2023 Ferris E. Lucas Sheriff of the Year award from the National Sheriffs' Association; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Michael Louis Chapman as an expression of the House of Delegates' admiration for his achievements in service to the Commonwealth.