## 23104588D

4

5 6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14 15

16

17

18 19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26 27

29

30

31

32

33 34

35

36 **37** 

38

39

40 41

42

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 812 1 2 Offered February 20, 2023 3

Commending Virginia Commonwealth University School of Pharmacy.

Patrons-Hodges, Bagby, Orrock, Wachsmann, Ware and Willett; Senators: Barker and McDougle

WHEREAS, Virginia Commonwealth University School of Pharmacy, a world-class and respected institution of higher education for the study of pharmaceutical science, celebrates its 125th anniversary in 2023; and

WHEREAS, Virginia Commonwealth University (VCU) School of Pharmacy was founded in Richmond in 1898 as part of the Medical College of Virginia (MCV), now the VCU School of Medicine; and

WHEREAS, since its founding, VCU School of Pharmacy has consistently been recognized as one of the nation's best pharmacy schools, ranking among the top 20 in the nation, and currently offers students doctor of pharmacy, master of science, and doctor of philosophy degree programs; and

WHEREAS, among VCU School of Pharmacy's many esteemed and successful graduates are the Commonwealth's first licensed female pharmacist and two recipients of the Remington Medal, the pharmacy industry's highest honor; and

WHEREAS, VCU School of Pharmacy's thousands of graduates have served communities and treated patients with great skill and medical competency across the Commonwealth, the nation, and the world; and

WHEREAS, along with its flagship MCV Campus facilities in Richmond, the VCU School of Pharmacy operates satellite campuses at the University of Virginia and at Inova Health System in Northern Virginia; and

WHEREAS, as health care and the pharmacy profession have evolved, the VCU School of Pharmacy, which started as a two-year program, has kept pace by expanding its curriculum, extending its program to three, four, and five years in 1925, 1932, and 1960, respectively, before adopting its six-year doctor of pharmacy program in 1995; and

WHEREAS, since its founding and still today, pharmaceutical researchers and graduate students at VCU School of Pharmacy have provided important insights into the treatment of illnesses, ranging from childhood asthma and sickle cell disease to eye disorders, heart disease, and cancer; and

WHEREAS, for many years, VCU School of Pharmacy faculty have ranked among VCU's most productive in terms of inventions and patent disclosures; and

WHEREAS, over its history, VCU School of Pharmacy has benefited from the extraordinary leadership of nine different deans, and it is currently under the leadership of Kelechi "K.C." Ogbonna, Pharm.D., M.S.H.A., who promises to position the institution for many years of continued success; now,

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring, That the General Assembly hereby commend Virginia Commonwealth University School of Pharmacy on the occasion of its 125th anniversary; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Kelechi "K.C." Ogbonna, dean of Virginia Commonwealth University School of Pharmacy, as an expression of the General Assembly's high regard for the institution and its contributions to the Commonwealth.