Department of Planning and Budget 2022 Fiscal Impact Statement

1.	Bill Number	r: SB749					
	House of Orig	in 🗌	Introduced	\boxtimes	Substitute		Engrossed
	Second House		In Committee		Substitute		Enrolled
2.	Patron:	McDougle					
3.	Committee:	Transportation					
4.	Title:	Antique motor vehicles and antique trailers; license plates.					

- 5. Summary: This bill requires the Department of Motor Vehicles to, upon application therefor, authorize for use on antique motor vehicles and antique trailers license plates that are embossed with and are of the same year of issue as the model year of the antique motor vehicle or antique trailer on which they are to be displayed having the same number as license plates already authorized for use on another motor vehicle or trailer, provided that only one of such sets of license plates was manufactured in 1973 or thereafter and any other such license plates were manufactured prior to 1973 and are also embossed with and are of the same year of issue as the model year of the antique motor vehicle or antique trailer on which they are to be displayed.
- 6. Budget Amendment Necessary: No.
- 7. Fiscal Impact Estimates: Preliminary. See Item #8.
- 8. Fiscal Implications: An antique motor vehicle is one that was manufactured in a calendar year not less than 25 years prior and owned solely as a collector's item. Depending on how the vehicle owner plans to use the vehicle, the owner may choose antique, vintage, or any one of the Department of Motor Vehicles' (DMV) standard license plates. Antique license plates are issued by DMV, while vintage license plates are original Virginia license plates issued prior to 1973 that the vehicle owner provides. Vehicles manufactured in or after 1973 are not eligible to use vintage license plates, as DMV began issuing yearly decals in 1973. (Motorcycles are an exception to this, as DMV issued yearly embossed motorcycle plates until 1976.) When customers provide vintage license plates, the year embossed on the license plate must match the model year of the vehicle. In addition, DMV must inspect and approve the physical condition of the vintage plates. In 2007, the General Assembly enacted language to prevent DMV from authorizing vintage plates with duplicate numbers. DMV charges a one-time \$50 registration fee to register a vehicle with a permanent vintage license plate.

Under § 46.2-730, the use of antique vehicles, trailers, motorcycles and autocycles registered with antique plates is limited to the participation in club activities, exhibits, tours, parades and similar events and to carrying or transporting passengers, personal effects and other antique vehicles for show purposes. They may also be used on Virginia highways to test

vehicle/trailer operation, obtaining maintenance or repairs and/or to sell the vehicle or trailer. Antique plates permit occasional pleasure driving (not to exceed 250 miles from the owner's residence) but are not to be used for general transportation purposes, including but not limited to, daily travel to and from the owner's place of employment. A violation of antique plate usage is a Class 4 misdemeanor, with the owner's registration for the vehicle involved in the violation to be revoked for a five-year period from the date of conviction.

This bill proposes amending § 46.2-730 to require DMV to authorize the use of vintage plates with plate numbers that match a single set of plates produced after 1973. The bill limits the use of vintage plates with duplicate plate numbers to one plate number per year embossed on the plate.

In order to implement the bill, the agency will incur programming costs estimated at \$58,036. The 788 staff hours required can be accomplished during the normal work schedules for DMV employees, given current workloads.

- 9. Specific Agency or Political Subdivisions Affected: Department of Motor Vehicles.
- 10. Technical Amendment Necessary: No.
- 11. Other Comments: None.