VIRGINIA ACTS OF ASSEMBLY -- 2022 SESSION

CHAPTER 329

An Act to amend and reenact §§ 2 and 3 of Chapter 867 of the Acts of Assembly of 2003, which provided a charter for the Town of La Crosse in Mecklenburg County, relating to municipal elections.

[H 1258]

Approved April 11, 2022

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of Virginia:

- 1. That §§ 2 and 3 of Chapter 867 of the Acts of Assembly of 2003 are amended and reenacted as follows:
- § 2. Election, etc. of mayor, council members, clerk-treasurer, recorder, town manager and chief of police.

The municipal officers of the town shall consist of a mayor, six council members, a clerk-treasurer, a recorder and a chief of police. The mayor and members of council shall be elected by the qualified voters of the town, and all persons qualified to vote in said election shall be eligible for any of said offices. The council shall be elected in the manner provided by Virginia election laws. Three council members shall be elected on the first Tuesday in May 2002 following the first Monday in November 2022 and every four years thereafter. The mayor and three other council members shall be elected on the first Tuesday in May 2004 following the first Monday in November 2024 and every four years thereafter. The office of clerk and treasurer may be held by the same person. Unless otherwise provided by the council, the town clerk shall be the recorder. The town manager shall be appointed by a majority vote of council. The chief of police, who does not necessarily have to be a qualified voter of the town, shall be appointed by the town manager, subject to confirmation by town council.

§ 3. Mayor and president of council.

The mayor shall be the chief executive officer of the town. He shall have and exercise all power and authority conferred by general law not inconsistent with this charter. He shall preside over the meeting of the town council and shall have the same right to speak therein as a member of the council, but shall not vote except in the case of a tie vote. He shall have the power of veto over the ordinances and resolutions of the council, but such ordinances and resolutions may be passed over such veto by a two-thirds vote of the members of the town council present and voting. He shall be recognized as the head of the town government for all ceremonial purposes. He shall perform such other duties consistent with his office as may be imposed by the town council. He shall see that the duties of the various town officers are faithfully performed. The police force of the town shall be under the control of the mayor for the purpose of enforcing peace and good order and executing the laws of the Commonwealth and the ordinances of the town. He, or the person acting as mayor, may deputize such assistant policemen as may be necessary, and shall authenticate by his signature such documents or instruments as the council, this charter, or the law of the Commonwealth shall require.

At the first meeting of the council in July January of each even-numbered odd-numbered year, the council shall elect from its members a president of council, who shall serve for a term of two years. The president of council shall act as mayor during the absence or disability of the mayor, and, if a vacancy occurs, shall become mayor until the next regular council election. At that election, a mayor shall be elected to fill the unexpired term.