Department of Planning and Budget
2021 Fiscal Impact Statement

. Bill Number: HB1992H2

House of Origin [0  Introduced Substitute O  Engrossed

Second House O In Committee O Substitute O Enrolled

Patron: Murphy
. Committee: Committee on Public Safety

Title: Purchase, possession of firearms following conviction for assault and battery of
a family member.

Summary: This proposal prohibits a person who has been convicted of assault and battery
of a family or household member from purchasing, possessing, or transporting a firearm. A
person who violates this provision would be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. No substantive
changes have been made to the bill since the prior substitute. The substitute changes the
definition of “family or household member” to mean (i) the person's spouse, whether or not
he resides in the same home with the person; (i1) the person's former spouse, whether or not
he resides in the same home with the person; (iii) the person's parents, stepparents, or
guardian, regardless of whether such persons reside in the same home with the person; (iv)
any individual who has a child in common with the person, whether or not the person and
that individual have been married or have resided together at any time; or (v) any individual
who cohabits or who, within the previous 12 months, cohabited with the person, and any
children of either of them then residing in the same home with the person.

. Budget Amendment Necessary: Yes. Item 402.
. Fiscal Impact Estimates: Preliminary. See below.

. Fiscal Implications: The proposal adds § 18.2-308.1:8 (purchase, possession, or
transportation of firearm following an assault and battery of a family or household member)
to the Code of Virginia. Under the proposed legislation, any person who knowingly and
intentionally purchases, possesses or transports a firearm following a misdemeanor
conviction for an assault and battery of a family or household member or a substantially
similar offense under the laws of any other state or of the United States when the offense
occurred on or after July 1, 2021, would be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor.

The proposal would expand the applicability of several existing felony offenses to include
offenders prohibited from possessing or transporting a firearm under the proposed § 18.2-
308.1:8. However, according to the Virginia Sentencing Commission, existing data sources
do not contain sufficient detail to estimate how many felony convictions would result from
enactment of the proposal. However, offenders may be sentenced similarly to those who are
currently convicted of a felony under the existing provisions. Offenders convicted of the



proposed Class 1 firearm misdemeanor who accumulate three or more firearm convictions
could be found guilty of a Class 6 felony under § 18.2-311.2 (third conviction of firearm
offenses).

However, based on the fiscal impact analysis conducted by the Virginia Criminal Sentencing
Commission, from FY 2015 through FY 2020 no felony convictions from third or subsequent
firearm violations resulted in a prison sentence. Due to the lack of data, the Virginia Criminal
Sentencing Commission has concluded, pursuant to §30-19.1:4 of the Code of Virginia, that
the impact of the proposed legislation on state-responsible (prison) bed space cannot be
determined. In such cases, Chapter 56, 2020 Acts of Assembly, Special Session I, requires
that a minimum impact of $50,000 be assigned to the bill. There is not enough information
available to reliably estimate the increase in jail population as a result of this proposal.
However, any increase in jail population will increase costs to the state. The Commonwealth
currently pays the localities $4.00 a day for each misdemeanant or otherwise local-
responsible prisoner held in a jail and $12.00 a day for each state-responsible prisoner. It
also funds a considerable portion of the jails’ operating costs, e.g. correctional officers. The
state’s share of these costs on a per prisoner, per day basis varies from locality to locality.
However, according to the Compensation Board’s most recent Jail Cost Report (November
2020), the estimated total state support for local jails averaged $34.59 per inmate, per day in
FY 2019.

9. Specific Agency or Political Subdivisions Affected: Department of Corrections,
Department of Juvenile Justice, Local and regional jails, Local law enforcement agencies,
Courts, Commonwealth’s Attorneys, and Public Defenders Offices.

10. Technical Amendment Necessary: No

11. Other Comments: None



