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1. Bill Number: HB251H1  

 House of Origin  Introduced  Substitute  Engrossed  

 Second House  In Committee    Substitute  Enrolled 
 

2. Patron: Watts 
 
3.  Committee: House Committee for Courts of Justice 
 
4. Title: Prostitution-related crimes; minors; penalties. 

 
5. Summary: Increases from a Class 1 misdemeanor to a Class 6 felony the penalty for an adult 

visiting a bawdy place that is used or to be used for lewdness, assignation, or prostitution 
with a person under the age of 18. The bill also adds felony violations of such offense to (i) 
the list of offenses for which registration in the Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors 
Registry is required, (ii) the definition of violent felony for the purposes of the sentencing 
guidelines, (iii) the list of predicate criminal acts that constitutes the definition of street 
gangs, (iv) the list of offenses that may constitute racketeering under the Virginia Racketeer 
Influenced and Corrupt Organization Act, and (v) the offenses that may be investigated by a 
multi-jurisdiction grand jury. The bill also makes applicable to all persons, regardless of the 
gender of the victim, the crimes of (a) assisting or aiding in the abduction of or threatening to 
abduct a person under 16 years of age for the purpose of concubinage or prostitution, which 
the bill also changes to include any person under 18 years of age, and (b) placing or leaving 
one's spouse in a bawdy place. 

 
6. Budget Amendment Necessary: Yes, Item 402. 
  
7. Fiscal Impact Estimates: Preliminary (see Item 8 below). 
 
8. Fiscal Implications: According to the Virginia State Police (VSP), the proposed legislation 

will require a revision to an existing registration form (SP-236) and reprinting of the form. 
The estimated cost is approximately $6,000. 

 
 According to the Criminal Sentencing Commission (CSC), the proposal increases the penalty 

for violations of § 18.2-347, keeping a bawdy place, from a Class 1 misdemeanor to a Class 6 
felony when the offender visits a bawdy place that is used or to be used for lewdness, 
assignation, or prostitution with a person under the age of 18.  

 
 Additionally, the proposal also adds the newly-defined felony offense to the several other 

existing statutes: (1) offenses requiring registration with the Sex Offender Registry (§ 9.1-
902) (registration would be applicable for the specified offenses committed on or after July 1, 
2020); (2) the definition of a violent felony offense for the purposes of Virginia’s sentencing 
guidelines (§ 17.1-805); (3) the definition of a “predicate criminal act” associated with gang 
activity (§ 18.2-46.1); (4) the definition of “racketeering activity” under Virginia’s RICO 



provisions (§ 18.2-513); and (5) offenses within the scope of a multi-jurisdictional grand jury 
(§ 19.2-215.1).  

 
 Furthermore, by adding § 18.2-347 to the above statutes, the proposal expands the 

applicability of a number of felony offenses: (1) under § 18.2-472.1, the first Sex Offender 
Registry violation committed by an offender who is not defined as sexually violent is 
punishable as a Class 1 misdemeanor; a second or subsequent Registry violation is a Class 6 
felony; (2) under § 18.2-46.2, a criminal street gang member who knowingly participates in 
any predicate criminal act for the benefit of, or at the direction of, the gang is guilty of a 
Class 5 felony. If the offender is 18 years of age or older and knows that the gang includes a 
juvenile member, he is guilty of a Class 4 felony. In addition, § 18.2-46.3:3 provides 
enhanced penalties for violations of § 18.2-46.2 committed in specified locations such as 
schools. Under § 18.2-46.3:1, a third or subsequent conviction for a gang offense is elevated 
to a Class 3 felony; (3) any person or enterprise convicted of racketeering is guilty of a 
felony that is punishable by imprisonment of five to forty years, while a second or 
subsequent offense is punishable as a Class 2 felony (20 years to life in prison). The 
transmission of money derived from, or traceable to, racketeering activity is punishable as a 
Class 6 felony (1-5 years). 

 
 The proposal also amends other sections of the Virginia Code to modify references to gender. 

In § 18.2-49, the proposal replaces “female under sixteen years of age” with “person under 
the age of 18” (which also expands this provision to cover 16 and 17-year-old victims). In § 
18.2-368, the proposal replaces “wife” with “spouse.” Lastly, the proposal expands the 
applicability of sentencing enhancements on Virginia’s sentencing guidelines. Offenders who 
have prior convictions for violent felony offenses, as defined in § 17.1-805, receive 
enhancements on the guidelines that increase the recommended sentences for those 
offenders.  

 
 The proposed legislation affects other several statutes in the Virginia Code (§§ 18.2-248, 

18.2-254.1, 18.2-308.2, 18.2-460, 19.2-120.1, and 19.2-303.5) because they contain 
references to § 17.1-805 in order to define a violent offender, to specify criminal penalties, to 
limit eligibility for a program, or to determine eligibility for release on bail. This also 
includes statutes related to Virginia’s victim assistance fund (§ 19.2-368.2) and the 
restoration of civil rights (§ 53.1-231.2) also include references to § 17.1-805. 

 
 The Virginia State Police (VSP) reports that the proposed legislation revises the statute 

governing offenses requiring registration as a sex offender. The VSP reports that this change 
will require a revision to an existing registration form (SP-236) and reprinting, the cost of 
which is estimated to be approximately $6,000. 

 
 Since the proposed legislation expands the applicability of a Class 1 misdemeanor, the 

proposed legislation may result in additional inmates being sent to jail. Anyone convicted of 
a Class 1 misdemeanor is subject to a sentence of up to 12 months in jail. However, there is 
not enough information available to reliably estimate the increase in jail population as a 
result of this proposal. Nevertheless, any increase in jail population will increase costs to the 
state. The Commonwealth currently pays the localities $4.00 a day for each misdemeanant or 



otherwise local-responsible prisoner held in a jail and $12.00 a day for each state-responsible 
prisoner. It also funds a considerable portion of the jails’ operating costs, e.g. correctional 
officers. The state’s share of these costs on a per prisoner, per day basis varies from locality 
to locality. However, according to the Compensation Board’s most recent Jail Cost Report 
(November 2019), the estimated total state support for local jails averaged $34.07 per inmate, 
per day in FY 2018.  

 
 The proposed legislation creates a new felony prostitution-related offense, expands the 

applicability of a number of other felony offenses, and expands the applicability of 
sentencing guidelines enhancements. Therefore, the proposal may increase the state-
responsible (prison) bed space needs of the Commonwealth. However, available data do not 
provide sufficient detail to estimate the number of new felony convictions, or potentially 

longer sentences, which may result from enactment of the proposal. Therefore, the impact of 
this portion of the proposal on prison bed space needs cannot be determined. Due to the lack 
of data, the Virginia Criminal Sentencing Commission has concluded, pursuant to §30-19.1:4 
of the Code of Virginia, that the impact of the proposed legislation on state-responsible 
(prison) bed space cannot be determined. In such cases, Chapter 854, 2019 Acts of 
Assembly, requires that a minimum impact of $50,000 be assigned to the bill. 

 
 The substitute version of the proposed legislation: (i) makes offenses requiring registration 

with the Sex Offender Registry, per section 9.1-902, to be applicable for specified offenses 
committed on or after July 1, 2020, as opposed to July 1 2019; (ii) and replaces “…any adult 
who violates this section where he knows that the bawdy place…” with “any adult who visits 
a bawdy place…” 

 

9. Specific Agency or Political Subdivisions Affected: The Virginia State Police; 
Commonwealth’s Attorneys; courts; local law enforcement; local jails. 

  
10. Technical Amendment Necessary: No. 
  
11. Other Comments: None. 


