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DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION 
2020 Fiscal Impact Statement 

 
1.  Patron Michael J. Webert 2. Bill Number HB 948 

  House of Origin: 
3.  Committee House Finance  X Introduced 

   Substitute 

    Engrossed 

4.  Title License Taxes; Prohibition on Rate 
Increases; Prohibition on New Taxes 

 
  Second House: 
   In Committee 

   Substitute 

   Enrolled 

 
5. Summary/Purpose:   

 
This bill would provide that any locality that levies a Business, Professional, and 
Occupational License (BPOL) Tax would be prohibited from increasing the rate of such 
tax above the rate imposed as of January 1, 2020. 
 
The bill would also prohibit any locality that does not levy a BPOL tax from levying such a 
tax in the future. 
 
If enacted during the Regular Session of the 2020 General Assembly, this bill would 
become effective July 1, 2020. 
 

6. Budget amendment necessary:  No 
 
7. Fiscal Impact Estimates are:  Not available.  (See Line 8.) 

 
8. Fiscal implications:   

 
Administrative Costs  
 
This bill could result in unknown administrative costs to localities that impose a BPOL tax 
or fee. It would have no impact on state administrative costs. 
 
Revenue Impact 
 
This bill could have an unknown revenue impact on localities that impose a BPOL tax or 
fee. It would have no impact on state revenues. 
 

9. Specific agency or political subdivisions affected:   
 
All localities  
 

10. Technical amendment necessary:  No 
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11. Other comments:   
 
Under current law, localities are authorized to impose a Business, Professional and 
Occupational License (BPOL) Tax upon local businesses. The BPOL tax is levied on the 
privilege of engaging in business at a definite place of business within a Virginia locality.   
 
According to the Weldon Cooper Center for Public Service, in Fiscal Year 2017, the BPOL 
tax was levied in every city, 51 counties, and 118 towns. 
 
The BPOL tax is generally imposed by the locality in which an entity has its “definite place 
of business;” defined in state law as an office or a location where the business has a 
regular and continuous course of dealing for thirty consecutive days or more.   
 
For businesses not assessed a flat fee, the measure or basis of the BPOL tax generally is 
the gross receipts of the business. However, current law allows localities to assess the 
BPOL tax on either gross receipts or the Virginia taxable income of a business.  
 
A locality may not assess a license tax on gross receipts upon which it charges a license 
fee. Additionally, the locality may not impose a license tax on a business with gross 
receipts less than $100,000 in any locality with a population greater than 50,000; or less 
than $50,000 in any locality with a population of 25,000 but no more than 50,000. 
 
Generally, tax rates are limited based on business classification: 

 

 For contracting, and persons constructing for their own account for sale, sixteen 
cents per $100 of gross receipts; 

 

 For retail sales, twenty cents per $100 of gross receipts; 
 

 For financial, real estate and professional services, fifty-eight cents per $100 of 
gross receipts; and 

 

 For repair, personal and business services, and all other businesses and 
occupations not specifically listed, thirty-six cents per $100 of gross receipts 

  
Additionally there are specific rate limitations applicable to license taxes on wholesalers, 
public service companies; carnivals; circuses and speedways; fortune-tellers; massage 
parlors; itinerant merchants or peddlers; permanent coliseums, arenas, or auditoriums 
having a maximum capacity in excess of 10,000 persons and open to the public; savings 
institutions and credit unions; photographers; and direct sellers. 
 
 
 
 
 



 
HB 948 -3- 01/13/20 

Proposal 
 
This bill would provide that any locality that levies a Business, Professional, and 
Occupational License (BPOL) Tax would be prohibited from increasing the rate of such 
tax above the rate imposed as of January 1, 2020. 
 
The bill would also prohibit any locality that does not levy a BPOL Tax from levying such a 
tax in the future. 
 
If enacted during the Regular Session of the 2020 General Assembly, this bill would 
become effective July 1, 2020. 
 
 

cc :  Secretary of Finance 
 
Date: 1/13/2020 SK 
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