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1. Bill Number:   HB265 

 House of Origin  Introduced  Substitute  Engrossed  

 Second House  In Committee    Substitute  Enrolled 
 

2. Patron: Heretick 
 
3.  Committee: Courts of Justice 
 
4. Title: Marijuana; decriminalization of simple marijuana possession; penalty. 

 
5. Summary:   Current law imposes a maximum fine of $500 and a maximum 30-day jail 

sentence for a first offense of simple possession of marijuana, a second or subsequent 
offenses is punishable as Class 1 misdemeanor. This bill decriminalizes marijuana possession 
and provides a civil penalty instead, with a fine of no more than $25. Fines assessed for these 
civil penalties are payable to the Literary Fund. 

 
 The bill creates a rebuttable presumption that a person who possesses no more than one-half 

ounce of marijuana possesses it for personal use.  The bill provides that the suspended 
sentence and substance abuse screening provisions apply only to criminal violations or to 
civil violations by a minor.  

 
 Under current law, the penalty for distribution or possession with intent to sell more than 

one-half ounce but not more than five pounds of marijuana is punishable as a Class 5 felony.  
The bill decreases this penalty to a Class 6 felony. 

 
6. Budget Amendment Necessary:  No 
  
7. Fiscal Impact Estimates:  Preliminary. See Item 8 below. 
 
8. Fiscal Implications:  Current law imposes a maximum fine of $500 and a maximum 30-day 

jail sentence for a first offense for simple possession of marijuana and a second or 
subsequent offenses is punishable as Class 1 misdemeanor. According to data provided by 
the Virginia Criminal Sentencing Commission, in FY 2019, there were 13,298 first-offense 
convictions for possession of marijuana (punishable by at least 30 days in jail). Of these, only 
6.4 % served time in jail and 93.6 % were sentenced to probation. The median sentence in 
local jail was 0.3 months. In FY 2019, there were 2,400 second-offense convictions for 
possession of marijuana (punishable as a Class 1 misdemeanor with up to 12 months in jail).  
Of these, 21.7 % served time in jail and the rest were sentenced to probation. The median 
sentence in jail was 0.3 months.  Under the provisions of this bill, these would no longer be 
criminal offenses.  Currently, the state reimburses local correctional facility $4 per inmate 
per day for individuals subject to these convictions. As a result, this proposal may decrease 
the need for jail bed space and thus reduce the number of per diem payments; however, the 
fiscal impact is minimal.  



 This bill reduces current criminal offenses for simple possession of marijuana and assesses 
only a civil penalty.  Fines assessed under the provisions of this bill are reduced from $500 to 
$25; fines assessed will continue, as they are currently, to be paid into the Literary Fund.  
Therefore, the legislation would reduce the revenue deposited into the Literary Fund.   

 

Under current law, Class 5 felonies are punishable by one to ten years in prison when 
convicted as a felony and up to 12 months in jail when convicted as a misdemeanor.  Class 6 
felonies are punishable by one to five years in prison when convicted as a felony and up to 12 
months in jail when convicted as a misdemeanor.    According to data provided by the 
Virginia Criminal Sentencing Commission, in FY 2019, there were 867 convictions for 
selling, distributing or possessing with intent to distribute amounts of marijuana over one-
half ounce up to five pounds (punishable as a Class 5 felony).  Of these, 39.2% served time 
in jail, with a median sentence of 3.0 months, 12.7% served time in prison, with a median 
sentence of 1.3 years, and 48.1% were sentenced to probation. Reducing the penalty for 
distribution or possession with intent to sell more than one-half ounce but not more than five 
pounds of marijuana from a Class 5 felony to a Class 6 felony may have the effect of 
reducing time served for such offenses, which may reduce costs to the state; however, given 
the relatively small population of offenders previously affected and the length of median 
sentences served, the fiscal impact of this change would likely be minimal. 
 
The proposed legislation removes the suspension and revocation of driver’s license as a term 
or condition of probation.  Suspended drivers pay a $145 reinstatement fee, of which $100 is 
directed to the Trauma Center Fund and $45 is directed to the Department of Motor Vehicles 
(DMV).  With decriminalization, fewer adults will have their licenses suspended for drug 
related convictions, resulting in a loss of reinstatement fee revenue from drivers whose 
licenses would have been suspended in the future but for this bill. The magnitude of this loss 
cannot be determined, as it depends on convictions.   

  
It is known that DMV currently receives $230,000 annually in reinstatement fees related to 
drug offenses and the Trauma Center Fund receives $512,000.  Upon passage of this bill, the 
total revenues for each would decline an indeterminate amount.    
 

9. Specific Agency or Political Subdivisions Affected:  Department of Motor Vehicles, 
Compensation Board, Department of Juvenile Justice, Department of Corrections, local and 
regional jails. 

  
10. Technical Amendment Necessary:  None 

 

11.  Other Comments:  Additionally, the DMV provides that 23 U.S.C. § 159 of the U.S. Code 
requires states to either (1) suspend for 6 months the license of an individual after the 
conviction of a drug offense, or (2) provide the Secretary of the U.S. Department of 
Transportation with a certification stating that the Governor of such state opposes suspending 
licenses for the conviction of drug offenses and pass a resolution stating such opposition.  In 
order to comply, this bill could be amended to address these requirements.   

 


