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1. Bill Number:   SB1033 

 House of Origin  Introduced  Substitute  Engrossed  

 Second House  In Committee    Substitute  Enrolled 
 

2. Patron: Stanley 
 
3.  Committee: Courts of Justice 
 
4. Title: Inspection of body-worn camera recordings by defendants 

 
5. Summary:   Provides a procedure for a defendant to inspect and copy or photograph any 

body-worn camera recordings that are known by the attorney for the Commonwealth to be 
within the Commonwealth’s possession, custody, or control. A defendant must demonstrate 
that such recordings may be material to the defendant’s preparation, and that the request is 
reasonable. The bill allows the Commonwealth to redact certain identifying information of 
witnesses, victims, members of their families, and any person whose information is contained 
in the material. The bill provides that the Commonwealth may designate any body-worn 
camera recording subject to disclosure as “Counsel Only Material” and that any unlawful 
reproduction or dissemination of such designated recordings is punishable as a Class 1 
misdemeanor.  

 
Additionally, the proposed legislation provides that body-worn camera recordings must be 
retained and not deleted for: (i) two years for recordings containing traffic infractions or 
Class 3 or 4 misdemeanors; (ii) five years for recordings that contain only Class 1 or 2 
misdemeanors; (iii) 10 years for recordings that contain certain felony offenses; and (iv) 100 
years for recordings containing data on first and second degree murder, robbery, carjacking, 
or any criminal sexual assault punishable as a felony. The bill requires all such requests for 
body-worn camera recordings to comply with the Virginia Freedom of Information Act 
(FOIA) pursuant to § 2.2-3700 of the Virginia Code. 

 
6. Budget Amendment Necessary:  Yes. Item 419. 
  
7. Fiscal Impact Estimates:  Preliminary. See Item 8. 
 
8. Fiscal Implications: This bill could have fiscal impact on local and state law enforcement 

agencies to the extent that the recordings are in their possession; however, not all state 
agencies have been able to determine the cost. 

  
 Currently, the Department of State Police (VSP) has a pilot program of five body-worn 

cameras (BWC) in Area 6 (Chesterfield County). The recordings are retained only for one 
year. If the proposed legislation is enacted, VSP has determined that there would be a one-
time cost of $21,775 to upgrade the existing server storage from one year to five years for the 
five pilot program BWCs in Chesterfield County. VSP reports that it will continue to store 



media beyond five years, as necessary, on physical USB flash drives. Additionally, VSP has 
indicated that it has an additional 341 BWCs in inventory that it plans to roll out in the next 
eighteen months in eleven area offices across the Commonwealth; however, the agency has 
not yet found a contractor to implement the rollout. According to VSP’s estimates, there 
would be a one-time cost of $239,525 to upgrade eleven servers to meet the storage 
requirements related to retention as proposed in the bill.  

 
 The proposed legislation provides that the Commonwealth “may” redact personal 

information, should the court order the attorney for the Commonwealth to permit the 
defendant to inspect and to copy or photograph any BWC recordings.  VSP believes that 
additional positions will be needed for redaction and FOIA purposes at each area office 
where any BWC program may be present if the legislation is enacted. VSP has concluded it 
needs sworn positions in each office where the BWC program is implemented at an annual 
cost of $124,044 (salary and benefits).  If non-sworn positions are provided, the annual cost 
for each position would be approximately $80,000. It is not possible to estimate the number 
of defendants who would request to inspect copies or photographs of BWCs recordings, 
therefore, the impact on VSP’s workload is indeterminate at this time. Additionally, there is 
insufficient information to determine the number of FOIA request that may materialize as a 
result of the proposed legislation.  

 
 VSP estimates it could implement a full statewide BWC program at the remaining 38 area 

offices in approximately 4.7 years. If the legislation is enacted, there could be an operational 
cost in the out years.   

 
 The Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority (Virginia ABC) has law enforcement 

and arrest powers responsibilities. According to Virginia ABC, they do not currently use 
BWCs, and there is no expected fiscal impact on the agency as a result of the proposed 
legislation at this time. 

 
 This bill may also have a fiscal impact on college and university police departments, 

however, it is not currently known how many college and university police departments use 
BWCs.  

 
 According to the Indigent Defense Commission, there is no anticipated fiscal impact on its 

operations as a result of this proposed legislation. 
 
 The expected fiscal impact on Commonwealth’s Attorneys is indeterminate at this time. The 

Governor’s introduced budget (HB1700/SB1100) included language requiring the Executive 
Secretary of the Compensation Board to study the impact that BWCs have on workloads in 
Commonwealth’s Attorneys’ offices. It is anticipated that this report will demonstrate the 
need for additional resources to meet these demands. 

 
  Currently, the Library of Virginia’s Records Retention and Disposition Schedule governs the 

retention requirements for body-worn camera video. Currently there is no directive that 
requires the retention of such video beyond the adjudication of a relevant court case and the 
point in time at which the video is no longer administratively useful to an agency 



 
 This bill also creates a Class 1 misdemeanor for anyone who misuses BWC information 

designated by the Commonwealth as “Counsel Only Material.” Therefore, this bill may 
increase the number of people sentenced to jail. Anyone convicted of a Class 1 misdemeanor 
is subject to a sentence of up to 12 months in jail.  There is not enough information available 
to estimate reliably how many additional inmates in jail could result from this proposal.  
Ultimately, the presiding judge will decide if there is to be any time served in jail; however, 
any increase in jail population will increase costs to the state. The Commonwealth presently 
pays the localities $4.00 a day for each misdemeanant or otherwise local responsible prisoner 
held in a jail.  It also funds a large portion of the jails’ operating costs, e.g. correctional 
officers.  The state’s share of these costs on a per prisoner, per day basis varies from locality 
to locality. According to the Compensation Board’s most recent Jail Cost Report (November 
2018), the estimated total state support for local jails averaged $33.83 per inmate, per day in 
FY 2017. 

 
9. Specific Agency or Political Subdivisions Affected:  Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Authority, Department of State Police, College and University Police Departments, Local 
law enforcement agencies, Commonwealth’s Attorneys, Indigent Defense Commission, 
Department of Motor Vehicle, Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, and Virginia 
Maurine Resource Commission, and local law enforcement agencies. 

  
10. Technical Amendment Necessary:  No. 
 
11. Other Comments:  None. 


