
Department of Planning and Budget 
2019 Fiscal Impact Statement 

 
1. Bill Number:   SB1017 

 House of Origin  Introduced  Substitute  Engrossed  

 Second House  In Committee    Substitute  Enrolled 
 

2. Patron: Marsden 
 
3.  Committee: Commerce and Labor 
 
4. Title: Minimum wage; increases to $8.00 per hour effective July 1, 2019. 

 
5. Summary:   Increases the minimum wage from its  current federally mandated level of $7.25 

per hour to (i)$8.00 per hour  effective July 1, 2019; (ii) $9.00 per hour effective July 1, 
2020; (iii) $10.10 per hour effective July 1, 2021; and (iv) $11.25 per hour effective July 1,  
2022, unless a higher minimum wage is required by the federal Fair Labor Standards Act 
(FLSA). The measure also provides that the cash wage paid to a tipped employee shall not be 
less than 50 percent of the minimum wage and that the tip credit shall equal the difference 
between the cash wage required to be paid to a tipped employee and the minimum wage. 

 
6. Budget Amendment Necessary:  Yes, Item 112 (Department of Labor and Industry) and 

Item 474 (Central Appropriations) HB1700/SB1100. See Item 8, below. 
  
7. Fiscal Impact Estimates:  Preliminary. See Item 8. 

Expenditure Impact, Department of Labor and Industry:   
Fiscal Year Dollars Positions Fund 

2019 0 0 n/a 

2020 $515,231 5 GF 

2021 $515,231 5 GF 

2022 $515,231 5 GF 

2023 $515,231 5 GF 

2024 $515,231 5 GF 

2025 $515,231 5 GF 

 Expenditure Impact, Central Appropriations: 
Fiscal Year Dollars Fund 

2019 0 n/a 

2020 $5,880 GF/NGF 

2021 $146,757 GF/NGF 

2022 $489,212 GF/NGF 

2023 $1,767,316 GF/NGF 

2024 $1,767,316 GF/NGF 

2025 $1,767,316 GF/NGF 

 



8. Fiscal Implications:  The first table above reflects the bill’s anticipated impact to the 
Department of Labor and Industry (DOLI) for costs related to enforcing the provisions of this 
bill. It is anticipated that the bill would have a fiscal impact on some state agencies, as the 
proposed increase to the minimum wage will affect the current salaries of some state 
employees.    

The federal Department of Labor’s Wage and Hour Division enforces the federal minimum 
wage laws. If the minimum wage in Virginia is raised above the federal minimum wage, the 
Labor Law Division in DOLI would have to begin enforcing the new minimum wage for 
Virginia employees beginning July 1, 2019. Currently, the Labor Law Division conducts 
very few inspections into allegations of Virginia Minimum Wage law at general fund 
expense as the federal law covers almost all employees in the state.  

 
Due to federal oversight of almost all employees in the state, the federal Department of 
Labor’s Wage and Hour Division conducts inspections of alleged violations of the minimum 
wage laws and averages about 750 inspections per year. If this bill is approved and increases 
the minimum wage above the federal mandate, then the Commonwealth will be responsible 
for minimum wage compliance. DOLI anticipates it will have to conduct the same number of 
inspections as the federal Department of Labor’s Wage and Hour Division (750 inspections 
per year). In order to meet this workload, DOLI will need five additional staff to enforce the 
increased minimum wage (four additional officer positions to conduct inspections and one 
assistant compliance officer to assist and support the inspection activities). DOLI’s impact is 
for regulatory enforcement of the bill. 
 
The second table above reflects the anticipated impact to state agencies based on the number 
of salaried employees. The general fund and nongeneral fund split for these estimates is not 
available. 
 

 Based on data provided by the Department of Human Resource Management, the increase 
that would be effective on July 1, 2019, would affect approximately 35 salaried employees 
and would have an expenditure impact of $5,880. The increase that would be effective on 
July 1, 2020, would affect approximately 142 salaried employees and have an expenditure 
impact of $146,757. The increase that would be effective on July 1, 2021, would affect 
approximately 335 salaried employees and have an expenditure impact of $489,212. The 
increase that would be effective on July 1, 2022, would affect approximately 1,177 salaried 
employees and have an expenditure impact of $1.8 million. These preliminary estimates are 
based on current salaries for current employees and do not account for the targeted salary 
increases that go into effect January 10, 2019. Benefit costs are not included. The proposed 
minimum wage adjustment would impact the state salary structure, and result in additional 
costs in order to mitigate compression, and occupational and employee alignment. Estimates 
are not available for any effect the bill would have on wage employees. 

 
 The bill also provides that the cash wage paid to a tipped employee shall not be less than 50 

percent of the minimum wage and that the tip credit shall equal the difference between the 
cash wage required to be paid to a tipped employee and the minimum wage. The Labor Law 
Division in DOLI would have to begin enforcing the new minimum wage for tipped 
employees beginning July 1, 2019. A tipped employee is an employee engaged in an 



occupation in which the employee customarily and regularly receives more than $30 a month 
in tips. The agency anticipates regulatory enforcement of tipped minimum wage would be 
included in DOLI’s impact for regulatory enforcement of the bill. 

 

9. Specific Agency or Political Subdivisions Affected:  Department of Labor and Industry; 
Department of Human Resource Management; all state agencies. 

  
10. Technical Amendment Necessary:  No. 
  
11. Other Comments:  Other similar minimum wage bills include HB1757, HB1850, HB2157, 

HB2195, HB2473, HB2631, and SB1200. 


