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1. Bill Number:   HB2580 

 House of Origin  Introduced  Substitute  Engrossed  

 Second House  In Committee    Substitute  Enrolled 
 

2. Patron: Kory 
 
3.  Committee: Agriculture, Chesapeake and Natural Resources 
 
4. Title: Prohibited pesticides; chlorpyrifos; penalty. 

 
5. Summary:  This bill prohibits the manufacture, distribution, sale, offer for sale, use, or offer 

for use of any pesticide containing chlorpyrifos, defined in the bill, as an active ingredient. 
The bill authorizes the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services to seize 
any such pesticide. Violation of the provision is a Class 1 misdemeanor and includes an 
additional fine of up to $500,000 if death or serious physical harm to any person is caused by 
the violation. 

 
6. Budget Amendment Necessary:  No. 
  
7. Fiscal Impact Estimates:  Indeterminate.  See item 8. 
 
8. Fiscal Implications:  The fiscal impact of this bill on the Virginia Department of Agriculture 

and Consumer Services (VDACS) is indeterminate.  The bill provides authority for VDACS 
to seize any pesticide containing chlorpyrifos. The agency does not collect information 
regarding the amount of pesticides shipped or sold in the Commonwealth.  Therefore, it is 
not possible to determine the volume of materials that may be seized and require disposal.  
Any seizure will require safe transport and secure storage of the products prior to disposal. 
As the agency does not currently seize or store pesticides, the costs associated with these two 
activities are unknown. Additionally, the bill does not specify the entity responsible for the 
costs of transport, storage, and disposal of any seized pesticides. Further, the number of 
complaints and associated investigations that may be related to the continued sale of these 
products is unknown. Administration of the Pesticide Control Act is a nongeneral fund 
supported program. 

 

 A violation of the provisions of the bill is punishable as a Class 1 misdemeanor.  Anyone 
convicted of a Class 1 misdemeanor is subject to a sentence of up to 12 months in jail.  
According to the Virginia Criminal Sentencing Commission, not enough information is 
available to reliably estimate how many additional inmates in jail could result from this 
proposal.  Ultimately, the presiding judge will decide if there is to be any time served in jail; 
however, any increase in jail population will increase costs to the state.  The Commonwealth 
presently pays the localities $4.00 a day for each misdemeanant or otherwise local 
responsible prisoner held in a jail.  It also funds a large portion of the jails’ operating costs, 
e.g. correctional officers.  The state’s share of these costs varies from locality to locality.  



According to the Compensation Board’s most recent Jail Cost Report (November 2018), the 
estimated total state support for local jails averaged $33.83 per inmate, per day in FY 2017. 

 
 In addition, persons convicted of misdemeanors are also subject to fines.  This bill also 

establishes an additional fine of up to $500,000 if death or serious physical harm to any 
person is caused by the violation. All revenue from fines must be deposited into the Literary 
Fund; the amount of revenue that may result from this bill is indeterminate. 

 

9. Specific Agency or Political Subdivisions Affected: Department of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services; localities; local jails and courts. 

 
10. Technical Amendment Necessary:  No. 
  
11. Other Comments:  None. 
 


