
Department of Planning and Budget 
2019 Fiscal Impact Statement 

 
1. Bill Number:   HB1850 

 House of Origin  Introduced  Substitute  Engrossed  

 Second House  In Committee    Substitute  Enrolled 
 

2. Patron: Simon 
 
3.  Committee: Commerce and Labor 
 
4. Title: Minimum wage; increases to $9.00 per hour effective July 1, 2019 

 
5. Summary:  Increases the minimum wage from its current federally mandated level of $7.25 per hour 

to $9.00 per hour effective July 1, 2019, to $10.00 per hour effective January 1, 2020, to $11.00 per 
hour effective January 1, 2021, to $13.00 per hour effective January 1, 2022, and to $15.00 per hour 
effective January 1, 2023, unless a higher minimum wage is required by the federal Fair Labor 
Standards Act (FLSA). For 2024 and thereafter, the annual minimum wage shall be adjusted to reflect 
increases in the consumer price index. Effective January 1, 2024, the minimum wage shall be not less 
than the adjusted state hourly minimum wage established by the Commissioner of Labor and Industry 
based on the Consumer Price Index or the federal minimum wage, whichever is greater.  This bill also 
provides that the Virginia minimum wage applies to persons whose employment is covered by the 
FLSA.  

 
6. Budget Amendment Necessary:  Yes, HB1700/SB1100, Item 112 (Department of Labor and 

Industry); Item 474 (Central Appropriations), and Item 303 (Department of Medical Assistance 
Services). See Item 8, below. 

  
7. Fiscal Impact Estimates:  Preliminary. See Item 8. 

 Expenditure Impact, Department of Labor and Industry:   
Fiscal Year Dollars Positions Fund 

2019 0 0 n/a 

2020 $515,231 5 GF 

2021 $515,231 5 GF 

2022 $515,231 5 GF 

2023 $515,231 5 GF 

2024 $515,231 5 GF 

2025 $515,231 5 GF 

 Expenditure Impact, Central Appropriations: 
Fiscal Year Dollars Fund 

2019 0 n/a 

2020 $956,987 
$465,597 

General 
Nongeneral 

2021 $2,691,305  
$1,478,266 

General 
Nongeneral 

2022 $9,309,964  
$5,889,746 

General 
Nongeneral 

2023 $24,781,171 
$16,971,819 

General 
Nongeneral 



2024 $34,865,351  
$24,418,365 

General 
Nongeneral 

2025 $34,865,351 
$24,418,365 

General 
Nongeneral 

 Expenditure Impact, Department of Medical Assistance Services: 
Fiscal Year Dollars Fund 

2019 $0 n/a 

2020 $0   n/a 

2021 $6,483,535  
$6,483,535 

General 
Nongeneral 

2022 $23,845,484  
$23,845,484  

General 
Nongeneral 

2023 $59,391,373 
$59,391,373  

General 
Nongeneral 

2024 $112,810,841  
$112,820,841  

General 
Nongeneral 

2025 $141,582,834 
$141,582,834  

 
 

General 
Nongeneral 

8. Fiscal Implications:  The first table above reflects the bill’s anticipated impact to the Department of 
Labor and Industry (DOLI) for costs related to enforcing the provisions of this bill.   

The federal Department of Labor’s Wage and Hour Division enforces the federal minimum wage 
laws. If the minimum wage in Virginia is raised above the federal minimum wage, the Labor Law 
Division in DOLI would have to begin enforcing the new minimum wage for Virginia employees 
beginning July 1, 2019.  

 
Due to federal oversight of almost all employees in the state, the federal Department of Labor’s Wage 
and Hour Division conducts inspections of alleged violations of the minimum wage laws and 
averages about 750 inspections per year. If this bill is approved and increases the minimum wage 
above the federal mandate, then the Commonwealth will be responsible for minimum wage 
compliance. DOLI anticipates it will have to conduct the same number of inspections as the federal 
Department of Labor’s Wage and Hour Division (750 inspections per year). In order to meet this 
workload, DOLI will need five additional staff to enforce the increased minimum wage (four 
additional officer positions to conduct inspections and one assistant compliance officer to assist and 
support the inspection activities). DOLI’s impact is for regulatory enforcement of the bill. 
 
This impact estimate assumes the provisions of this bill will apply to persons employed or supported 
by the Commonwealth.  The second table above reflects the anticipated impact to state agencies based 
on the number of salaried employees and wage positions reflected in the Commonwealth’s Personnel 
Management Information System (PMIS) as of December 31, 2018.  PMIS data do not include 
information for certain state agencies, some authorities, and institutions of higher education that do 
not report personnel data in PMIS.  Examples include salary data for the Judicial and Legislative 
agencies as well as the Virginia Port Authority, Virginia Tourism Authority, Virginia Economic 
Development Partnership, and the University of Virginia Medical Center.  It also does not include 
wage data for the community colleges, Longwood University, the University of Mary Washington, 
Radford University, Christopher Newport University, and the Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control 
Authority.  The Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority is assessing the impact of this bill on 
its operations but has not yet determined if this bill will increase its payroll costs.  Therefore, this 
estimate does not include potential impacts to state entities that do not report personnel data in PMIS.  



The general fund and nongeneral fund shares of these estimates are based on actual FY 2017 
expenditure data for salaried positions.     
 

 Based on data provided by the Department of Human Resource Management, the minimum wage 
increase that would be effective on July 1, 2019, would affect approximately 501 salaried and wage 
state employees.  The January 1, 2020, increase would affect approximately 1,185 employees.  Due to 
the timing of these changes, each increase would be effective for one-half of the fiscal year and 
reflect a total expenditure impact of approximately $1.42 million (from both general and nongeneral 
fund sources) in FY2020.  The minimum wage increase effective on January 1, 2021, would affect 
3,238 salaried and wage state employees.  When combined with the January 1, 2020, increase, the 
total FY2021 expenditure impacts are estimated to be approximately $4.17 million (from both general 
and nongeneral fund sources). The minimum wage increase that would be effective on January 1, 
2022, would affect approximately 6,938 salaried and wage state employees.  When combined with the 
January 1, 2021, increase, the total FY2022 expenditure impacts are expected to be approximately 
$15.20 million (from both general and nongeneral fund sources).  The minimum wage increase 
effective on January 1, 2023, would affect 12,459 salaried and wage state employees.  When 
combined with the January 1, 2022, increase, the total expenditure impacts are estimated to be 
approximately $41.75 million in FY2023 and $59.28 million in FY2024 (from general and 
nongeneral fund sources).   

 
As any increase that may occur on January 1, 2024, is unknown, this impact statement reflects the 
continuation of the minimum wage at the amount this bill establishes effective January 1, 2023.  
These preliminary estimates are based on salaries as of December 31, 2018, for current state 
employees and do not account for the salary increases that have since been implemented or that will 
go into effect after that date.  Additional benefit costs that would result from a minimum wage 
increase also are not included in this estimate. The proposed minimum wage adjustment would 
impact the state salary structure, and may result in additional future costs to mitigate compression, 
and address occupational and employee alignment. 

 
Higher education institutions and the Virginia Department of Transportation (VDOT) historically 
have had a number of wage employees working for them.  Based on a sampling of higher education 
institutions, the impact of the proposed minimum wage increase on wage labor costs will be 
noticeable by some but not all institutions.  These impacts will vary as the minimum wage rises from 
$9.00 to $15.00 per hour, and further as the amount is adjusted for the Consumer Price Index.  For 
example, the minimum wage would need to increase to $13.00 before the University of Virginia 
(UVA) and VDOT would notice a fiscal impact.  Given this, the additional fiscal impact of these bills 
on wage labor costs at these entities will primarily fall into the next biennium.  Those costs are 
indeterminate at this time. 

 
 The third table above reflects the anticipated impact on the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services (DMAS) for mandated community-based personal care services provided to individuals 
through a number of waivers and the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment 
(EPSDT) program.  These services are provided by personal care attendants who currently make, on 
average, $11.93 per hour in northern Virginia and $9.22 per hour in the rest of the state.  A two 
percent increase will take effect on July 1, 2019, raising this rate to $12.17 in northern Virginia and 
$9.40 in the rest of the state.  DMAS estimates that the Commonwealth utilizes 57,523,985 hours 
(statewide) of personal care services at a cost of approximately $580 million annually.  Should 
Virginia’s minimum wage be increased above the rates currently paid to personal care attendants, 
then DMAS would be required to adjust the attendants’ hourly wage accordingly.  Using the personal 
care attendant hourly wage, as of July 1, 2019, and the estimated number of personal care service 
hours, the fiscal impact of potential minimum wage increases can be estimated by multiplying the 



hourly wage increase by the estimated number of hours paid.  It should be noted that this estimate 
does not account for potential increases in the number of mandated personal care hours associated 
with new or existing waivers.  Additionally, DMAS is still assessing the potential expense of paying 
FICA costs on behalf of personal care attendants.  Any additional FICA expense is not included in 
this estimate.   

 
 As previously stated, HB 1850 raises the minimum wage to $9.00 on July 1, 2019; $10.00 on January 

1, 2020; $11.00 on January 1, 2021; $13.00 on January 1, 2022, and $15.00 on January 1, 2023.  For 
2024 and thereafter, the annual minimum wage shall be adjusted to reflect increases in the consumer 
price index.  Based on the methodology above, this would increase total Medicaid costs by $13.0 
million in FY 2021 ($6.5 million general fund); $47.7 million in FY 2022 ($23.8 million general 
fund); $118.8 million in FY 2023 ($59.4 million general fund); $225.6 million in FY 2024 ($112.8 
million general fund); and $283.2 million ($141.6 million general fund) in FY 2025.  These estimates 
do not reflect the potential inflationary impact of adjusting the rates by the consumer price index.   

 
 The Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services (DARS) also contracts for personal attendant 

services for individuals with physical disabilities who require assistance from another person to 
perform non-medical activities of daily living.  The agency estimates that these costs would rise as the 
state’s minimum wage is increased since most of these individuals who provide these services make 
at or near the current minimum wage.  While these services are not mandated, there would be an 
indeterminate impact on the agency’s ability to maintain current service levels.   

 
 In addition to the impact on personal care service costs, increasing the state’s minimum wage also 

would affect future Medicaid rates since these are partially driven by the cost of services.  If a 
provider’s costs change, that experience will ultimately be factored into future Medicaid rate setting 
processes.   

 
While a specific fiscal impact on future Medicaid rates cannot be determined at this time, a minimum 
wage increase likely will lead to an increase in Medicaid rates, particularly those paid to long-term 
care facilities and other long-term care providers.  Nursing facilities are heavily dependent on 
Medicaid as their primary source of revenue (in 2016, approximately 62 percent of total nursing 
facility bed days were attributable to Medicaid patients).  Moreover, these facilities tend to utilize 
staff that make at or near the minimum wage.  The Medicaid rate paid to nursing homes is based on 
costs experienced by the facilities and are rebased every three years, at which time any cost increases 
would be realized in the Medicaid rate.  The next nursing home rebasing effective in FY 2021 is 
going to use calendar year 2018 cost data (the period before the effective date of any minimum wage 
increase).  Therefore, it is expected that any increased costs would not be translated into Medicaid 
rates until FY 2024 when the nursing home rates are based on 2021 cost data.  In addition, other long-
term care providers such as agencies for personal care and respite, home health agencies, and hospice 
providers typically employ people at an hourly wage less than those proposed in this bill.  Raising the 
minimum wage would put upward pressure on provider rates that in turn could necessitate an increase 
in managed care capitation payments. 

 
 DMAS is continuing to examine other potential fiscal implications from this bill.  No estimates of 

these potential additional impacts are available at this time. 
 

 This bill may have fiscal impacts on state agencies that fund state-supported local employees. Any 
such costs are indeterminate; however, the most recent data from the Department of Social Services 
indicates that there are currently 1,147 full-time employees at local departments of social services 
(LDSSs) whose hourly rate is below $15.00. The costs to increase the wages of this population, as 



prescribed by the bill, can be found in the table below. These estimates do not reflect the potential 
inflationary impact of adjusting the rates by the consumer price index.   

 

Min. hourly 

rate 

# of 

employees 

affected 

Total cost General fund Nongeneral 

fund 

Local match 

$9.00 4 $6,000 $2,070 $3,000 $930 

$10.00 21 $27,600 $9,522 $13,800 $4,278 

$11.00 63 $109,920 $37,922 $54,960 $17,038 

$13.00 258 $689,520 $237,884 $344,760 $106,876 

$15.00 1147 $3,339,500 $1,152,128 $1,669,750 $517,623 

 
 
 Additionally, there are 65 part-time local employees whose hourly rate is below $15.00.  A working 

estimate of 1,500 hours per part-time wage employee is assumed.  The costs to increase the wages of 
this population, as prescribed by the bill, can be found in the table below. Additionally, there may be 
some employees who are actually full-time but are split for accounting purposes between LDSS and 
another program.  Impacts from any additional hours worked elsewhere are not reflected above. 
These estimates do not reflect the potential inflationary impact of adjusting the rates by the consumer 
price index.   

 

Min. hourly 

rate 

# of 

employees 

affected 

Total cost General fund Nongeneral 

fund 

Local match 

$9.00 2 $3,780 $1,304 $1,890 $586 

$10.00 2 $5,250 $1,811 $2,625 $814 

$11.00 9 $10,710 $3,695 $5,355 $1,660 

$13.00 36 $79,170 $27,314 $39,585 $12,271 

$15.00 65 $234,510 $80,906 $117,255 $36,349 
 

 In addition to the local departments of social services funded through the Virginia Department of 
Social Services, other agencies that fund state-supported local government employees include the 
Department of Juvenile Justice (DJJ) and the State Compensation Board (SCB).  DJJ supports court 
services unit staff, and the SCB supports permanent positions in constitutional offices.  Impact 
estimates to DJJ and SCB for affected employees are indeterminate.  The Compensation Board does 
not establish specific wage levels for individuals or how local offices must use the funds received 
from the state.  The funds are allocated as a lump-sum and can be reimbursed in whatever increments 
are expended by the local office each month up to the maximum budgeted amount.   

 
 Another area that receives state funds and may be impacted by this bill is public education, 

specifically wage labor and full-time positions that presently may be paid a wage lower than the 
prescribed minimum wage in the bill.  Support positions such as bus drivers and janitorial staff may 
be impacted.  Although any cost impact would initially fall directly on local governments, any 
increase in the costs of public education will translate into additional state support being required in 
the Direct Aid to Public Education budget in future biennia.  Those costs are indeterminate at this 
time; however, any increase in prevailing costs would not impact the re-benchmarking costs of public 
education until the 2022-2024 biennium. 

 



 Finally, this bill may have indeterminate fiscal implications on agencies that employ contractors to 
the extent that the contractors are currently paid less than the minimum wage thresholds established in 
this bill.  These indeterminate impacts may include labor costs associated with capital outlay projects. 

 
 
9. Specific Agency or Political Subdivisions Affected:  Department of Labor and Industry; 

Department of Human Resource Management; all state agencies; local school divisions and 
local governments.  

 
10. Technical Amendment Necessary:  No. 

  
11. Other Comments:  None. 
 
 Other similar minimum wage bills include SB1200, HB2157, and SB1017. 
 


