SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 321

Commending the Liberty University School of Aeronautics.

Agreed to by the Senate, January 24, 2019 Agreed to by the House of Delegates, February 1, 2019

WHEREAS, in April 2018, the Liberty University School of Aeronautics became one of the only schools in the nation to win the prestigious Loening Trophy for two consecutive years at the National Intercollegiate Flying Association's Safety and Flight Evaluation Conference; and

WHEREAS, the Safety and Flight Evaluation Conference (SAFECON) is a competition staged each year to test flight teams and aviation students on pre-flight inspections, simulator flights, navigation, flight planning, precision landing, and other aviation skills; the Liberty University School of Aeronautics competed against some of the top programs in the country to earn the Loening Trophy; and

WHEREAS, named for Grover Loening, an aeronautical engineer for the Wright Brothers, the award recognizes the best all-around college aviation program in the nation on the basis of flight skills, community involvement, academics, safety, professionalism, and other factors; in 2017, the Liberty University School of Aeronautics brought the Loening Trophy back to Virginia for the first time since 1933; and

WHEREAS, the Liberty University School of Aeronautics also claimed the American Airlines Safety Award for the third consecutive year, becoming the only school in history to win the award three times in a row; and

WHEREAS, founded in 2002, the Liberty University School of Aeronautics has quickly become one of the top aeronautical schools in the region; during the summer of 2018, the school partnered with the United States Air Force to train 54 JROTC high school cadets in an intensive eight-week private pilot's license course, in addition to its regular courses, summer camps, and training programs; and

WHEREAS, the members of the Liberty University School of Aeronautics SAFECON team are exceptional ambassadors for Virginia and represent a bright future for aeronautics throughout the Commonwealth and the United States; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the Senate, the House of Delegates concurring, That the General Assembly hereby commend the Liberty University School of Aeronautics on winning its second consecutive Loening Trophy in 2018; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the Senate prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to the Liberty University School of Aeronautics as an expression of the General Assembly's admiration for the school's outstanding achievements and commitment to excellence.