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1. Bill Number:   SB 669 

 House of Origin  Introduced  Substitute  Engrossed  

 Second House  In Committee    Substitute  Enrolled 
 

2. Patron: Deeds 

 

3.  Committee: House Courts of Justice 

 

4. Title: Access to firearms 
 

5. Summary:   
  
  Under current law, it is a Class 1 misdemeanor for anyone who has been involuntarily 

admitted to a facility, ordered to mandatory outpatient treatment, or is the subject of a 
temporary detention order to purchase, possess, or transport a firearm.  A third and 
subsequent conviction would be a Class 6 felony. 

  
  The proposed legislation would expand the prohibition to include minors 14 years of age 

or older who had been involuntarily admitted to a facility, ordered to mandatory outpatient 
treatment, or were the subject of a temporary detention order.   

 
6. Budget Amendment Necessary:  None. 
  
7. Fiscal Impact Estimates:  Preliminary.  See Item 8. 
 

8. Fiscal Implications:   
 

   Anyone convicted of a Class 1 misdemeanor is subject to a sentence of up to 12 months 
in jail.  By expanding the prohibition against purchasing, possessing, or transporting firearms 
to include minors 14 years old or older who had been involuntarily committed to a facility, 
ordered to mandatory outpatient treatment, or were subject to a temporary detention order,  
the legislation could result in additional persons being confined in jails.  According to the 
Virginia Criminal Sentencing Commission, not enough information is available to reliably 
estimate how many additional inmates in jail could result from this proposal.  Ultimately, the 
presiding judge will decide if there is to be any time served in jail; however, any increase in 
jail population will increase costs to the state.  The Commonwealth presently pays the 
localities $4.00 a day for each misdemeanant or otherwise local responsible prisoner held in a 
jail.  It also funds a large portion of the jails’ operating costs, e.g. correctional officers.  The 
state’s share of these costs varies from locality to locality.   

 
  The Virginia Criminal Sentencing Commission has concluded, pursuant to §30-19.1:4 of 

the Code of Virginia, that the legislation is not expected to increase the prison bed space 
needs of the Commonwealth. 



 

9. Specific Agency or Political Subdivisions Affected:   
 
 Compensation Board 
 Local and regional jails  
  
10. Technical Amendment Necessary:  None. 
  
11. Other Comments:  None. 


