Department of Planning and Budget 2018 Fiscal Impact Statement

1.	Bill Number:	HB951		
	House of Origin	Introduced	Substitute	Engrossed
	Second House	In Committee	Substitute	Enrolled

- 2. Patron: Lopez
- 3. Committee: Agriculture, Chesapeake and Natural Resources
- **4. Title:** Product safety; flame retardants; regulations; fund; civil penalty.
- 5. Summary: This bill prohibits the manufacture or sale in the Commonwealth, beginning July 1, 2019, of upholstered furniture intended for residential use or any product that is intended to come into close contact with a person younger than 12 years of age if such upholstered furniture or product contains any flame-retardant chemical listed in the bill. The bill requires the manufacturer of any prohibited product to notify sellers of the prohibition by March 31, 2019, and requires a manufacturer to recall by that date any products that it has sold in violation of the prohibition. Casual or isolated sales of previously owned products containing the listed chemicals are exempted from the prohibition. The bill subjects any manufacturer in the Commonwealth that manufacturers a product in violation of the provisions of the bill to a civil penalty of \$5,000 for a first offense or \$10,000 for a second or subsequent offense, and it directs the funds collected to the Virginia Product Safety Fund, created by the bill. Finally, the bill directs the Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services to adopt regulations to carry out the provisions of the chapter and to impose the chemical prohibition on certain other consumer products.
- 6. Budget Amendment Necessary: No.
- 7. Fiscal Impact Estimates: Indeterminate. See item 8.
- 8. Fiscal Implications: This bill will have an indeterminate fiscal impact on the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (VDACS). The number of complaints that VDACS may receive as a result of this bill and the associated investigative work required to bring civil action against violators of the prohibitions in this bill cannot be determined. In addition, actions against manufacturers for non-compliance could result in an expenditure impact by the Office of the Attorney General or VDACS for the use of outside counsel; the costs associated with these expenses cannot be determined.

The bill establishes a \$5,000 penalty for each violation in the case of a first offense and a \$10,000 penalty for a second or subsequent violation; penalties are assessed against the manufacturer of a prohibited product. The revenue associated with these penalties cannot be determined. The bill requires that any penalties collected in accordance with the bill be deposited into a newly created Virginia Product Safety Fund. It is unclear whether VDACS is

allowed to charge administration expenses to the Fund. If program administration is not an allowable expense, the bill may result in an indeterminate general fund impact to VDACS.

- **9.** Specific Agency or Political Subdivisions Affected: Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Office of the Attorney General, judicial system.
- 10. Technical Amendment Necessary: No.
- 11. Other Comments: None.