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1. Bill Number:   HB650 

 House of Origin  Introduced  Substitute  Engrossed  

 Second House  In Committee    Substitute  Enrolled 
 

2. Patron: Murphy 
 
3.  Committee:  Militia, Police and Public Safety  
 
4. Title: One handgun purchase in a 30-day period. 

 
5. Summary:  This bill makes it a Class 1 misdemeanor for individuals to purchase more than 

one handgun within a 30-day period. Exemptions are as follows: (i) persons who have been 
issued a certificate by the Department of State Police under certain circumstances and with 
an enhanced background check, (ii) law enforcement agencies and officers, (iii) state and 
local correctional facilities, (iv) licensed private security companies, (v) persons who hold a 
valid Virginia concealed handgun permit, (vi) persons whose handgun has been stolen or 
irretrievably lost or who are trading in a handgun, (vii) purchases of handguns in a private 
sale, and (viii) purchases of antique firearms. This proposal would restore the limit on the 
handgun purchases to one per month, as well as the Class 1 misdemeanor for violation of the 
purchase limit, which were removed from the Code of Virginia by the 2012 General 
Assembly. 

 
6. Budget Amendment Necessary: Yes. Item 422, Chapter 836. 
  
7. Fiscal Impact Estimates:  Preliminary. See Items 7a and 8. 

7a. Expenditure Impact:   
Fiscal Year Dollars Positions Fund 

2019 $53,594 1 General Fund 

2020 $47,514 1 General Fund 

2021 $47,514 1 General Fund 

2022 $47,514 1 General Fund 

2023 $47,514 1 General Fund 

2024 $47,514 1 General Fund 

2025 $47,514 
 

1 General Fund 

8. Fiscal Implications:  According to the Virginia State Police (VSP), it will need to modify  
the department’s VCheck system to enable a restriction that limits individuals to purchasing 
one handgun every 30 days.  It estimates a one-time cost for information technology update 
of $6,080. VSP also anticipates hiring one additional person to receive and process 
applications for enhanced background checks. The annual salary and benefits for this 
position are estimated to be $47,514.  

 



This bill would also increase the number of individuals convicted of a Class 1 misdemeanor, 
which is punishable by up to 12 months’ incarceration, and/or a fine up to $2,500. 
Individuals who are convicted of this offense for the third time, and for subsequent 
convictions, will be found guilty of a Class 6 felony, which can have the same punishment as 
a Class 1 misdemeanor, or a person may receive between 1-5 years in prison. This proposal 
could result in an increase in the number of persons sentenced to jail or prison.  

 
There is not enough information available to reliably estimate how many additional inmates 
in jail could result from this proposal.  Ultimately, the presiding judge will decide if there is 
to be any time served in jail; however, any increase in jail population will increase costs to 
the state.  The Commonwealth presently pays the localities $4.00 a day for each 
misdemeanant or otherwise local responsible prisoner held in a jail and $12.00 a day for each 
state responsible inmate.  It also funds a considerable portion of the jails’ operating costs, e.g. 
correctional officers.  The state’s share of these costs on a per prisoner, per day basis varies 
from locality to locality. However, according to the Compensation Board’s most recent Jail 
Cost Report (November 2017), the estimated total state support for local jails averaged 
$34.58 per inmate, per day in FY 2016. 

 

9. Specific Agency or Political Subdivisions Affected:  Department of State Police, Local law 
enforcement agencies, Department of Corrections, local and regional jails, and Department of 
Juvenile Justice.   

  
10. Technical Amendment Necessary:  No. 
  
11. Other Comments:  This bill is identical to HB353. 


