SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 85

Reconstituting the Virginia Women's Monument Commission and coordinating the dedication of the Virginia Women's Monument.

Agreed to by the Senate, March 7, 2018 Agreed to by the House of Delegates, March 6, 2018

WHEREAS, Senate Joint Resolution No. 11 (2010) established a commemorative commission to honor the contributions of the women of Virginia with a monument on the grounds of Capitol Square, now known as the Virginia Women's Monument Commission, and Senate Joint Resolution No. 76 (2014) increased the membership of the Commission; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the Senate, the House of Delegates concurring, That the membership of the Virginia Women's Monument Commission be reconstituted. The Commission shall consist of 20 members as follows: the Governor of Virginia or his designee; the Chair of the Senate Committee on Rules; one member of the Senate appointed by the Senate Committee on Rules; the Speaker of the House of Delegates or his designee; one member of the House of Delegates at large appointed by the Speaker of the House of Delegates; the Clerk of the Senate; the Clerk of the House of Delegates; eight nonlegislative citizen members of whom three members shall be appointed by the Governor, two shall be appointed by the Senate Committee on Rules, and three shall be appointed by the Speaker of the House of Delegates; and the Secretary of Administration or her designee, the immediate past Secretary of Administration, the Librarian of Virginia or her designee, the Executive Director of the Virginia Capitol Foundation/Chief Administrative Officer of the Capitol Square Preservation Council, and the Architectural Historian of the Capitol Square Preservation Council, all of whom shall serve ex officio with voting privileges. The Chair may designate up to three emeritus members to serve with nonvoting privileges and may provide for their participation accordingly; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the dedication of the Virginia Women's Monument shall be coordinated by the Clerk of the Senate, the Clerk of the House of Delegates, and the Secretary of Administration or her designee; and, be it

RESOLVED FINALLY, That the Governor or his designee shall serve as Chair with voting privileges.