DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION 2017 Fiscal Impact Statement

1.	Patro	n Siobhan S. Dunnavant	2.	Bill Number SB 1029
3.	Comn	nittee Senate Finance		House of Origin: X Introduced
4	Titla	Individual Income Tax; Personal Exemption		Substitute Engrossed
	THE	Amounts		Second House:In CommitteeSubstituteEnrolled

5. Summary/Purpose:

This bill would increase the individual income tax personal exemption amount from \$930 to \$1,000. The bill would also increase the additional personal exemption for age or blindness from \$800 to \$900.

This bill would be effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2018.

6. Budget amendment necessary: Yes.

Page 1, Revenue Estimates

7. Fiscal Impact Estimates are: Preliminary. (See Line 8.)

7b. Revenue Impact:

Fiscal Year	Dollars	Fund
2016-17	\$0	GF
2017-18	(\$13.1 million)	GF
2018-19	(\$26.7 million)	GF
2019-20	(\$26.5 million)	GF
2020-21	(\$26.6 million)	GF
2021-22	(\$26.8 million)	GF
2022-23	(\$26.8 million)	GF

8. Fiscal implications:

Administrative Costs

The Department of Taxation ("the Department") considers implementation of this bill as routine, and does not require additional funding.

Revenue Impact

This bill would have a negative General Fund revenue impact of \$13.1 million in FY 2018, \$26.7 million in FY 2019, \$26.5 million in FY 2020, \$26.6 million in FY 2021, \$26.8 million in FY 2022, and \$26.8 million in FY 2023.

SB 1029 -1- 01/17/17

9. Specific agency or political subdivisions affected:

Department of Taxation

10. Technical amendment necessary: No.

11. Other comments:

Virginia Personal Exemptions

Currently, a \$930 personal exemption may be claimed for each person filing a return (for married couples, each spouse is entitled to an exemption) and for each dependent claimed on a federal income tax return. Virginia's personal exemptions were originally modeled after the federal personal exemptions. In 1971, when Virginia studied conforming to federal income tax law, Virginia's personal exemptions were originally intended to be the same as the federal personal exemptions. However, by 1972, when Virginia voted to conform to federal income tax law, Virginia's personal exemption amount was less than the federal amount because Virginia did not conform to the 1972 federal increase. Virginia's personal exemption amounts have changed over the years, as shown below:

Year(s)	Virginia Personal Exemption
1972	\$600
1973-1986	\$600
1987	\$700
1988-2005	\$800
2006-2007	\$900
2008-present	\$930

In addition to the \$930 personal exemption, an \$800 personal exemption for age or blindness may be claimed for each filer who is blind or who has attained the age of 65 before the close of the taxable year. Virginia's additional personal exemptions for age or blindness have changed over the years, as shown below:

Year(s)	Personal Exemption for Blindness/Age
1972	\$600
1973-1986	\$600 for blindness \$1,000 for age
1987	\$900
1988-present	\$800

Beginning in Taxable Year 1973, the General Assembly allowed an additional \$400 personal exemption for taxpayers who claimed the additional federal personal exemption for age. Therefore, for Taxable Years 1973 through 1986, the total Virginia additional personal exemption for age was \$1,000. There was no additional amount allowed for blindness. Thus, taxpayers who claimed the federal personal exemption for blindness

SB 1029 -2- 01/17/17

were entitled to only a \$600 additional personal exemption on Virginia returns filed from 1973 through 1986.

Federal Personal Exemptions

A personal exemption may be claimed for each person filing a return (for married couples, each spouse is entitled to an exemption) and for each person who can be claimed as a dependent. Effective in 1985, 1986, and all taxable years after 1989, the federal personal exemptions—as well the standard deduction, tax rate brackets, and other federal tax provisions—have been subject to annual adjustments for inflation, using the U.S. Department of Labor Consumer Price Index for Urban Consumers. For Taxable Year 2015, a \$4,000 federal personal exemption may be claimed. This amount increased to \$4,050 for Taxable Year 2016 and remains at \$4,050 for Taxable Year 2017.

Taxpayers may lose a part or all of the benefit of their federal personal exemptions if their adjusted gross income ("AGI") is above a certain amount. For Taxable Year 2017, the personal exemption begins to be phased out for single filers (other than surviving spouses and heads of household) with an AGI of \$261,500 or more. The personal exemption is completely phased out for single filers with an AGI of \$384,000 or more.

Current federal law does not allow for additional personal exemptions for age or blindness. From 1948 through 1986, federal law allowed for an additional personal exemption for such individuals. However, for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 1987, the additional personal exemption for age or blindness was replaced with an additional standard deduction for such individuals. The additional federal standard deduction is subject to annual adjustments for inflation, using the U.S. Department of Labor Consumer Price Index for Urban Consumers. For Taxable Years 2016 and 2017, the additional standard deduction amount for the aged or the blind is \$1,250. The additional standard deduction amount is increased to \$1,550 if the individual is also unmarried and not a surviving spouse.

Proposed Legislation

This bill would increase the individual income tax personal exemption amount from \$930 to \$1,000. The bill would also increase the additional personal exemption for age or blindness from \$800 to \$900.

This bill would be effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2018.

Similar Bills

House Bill 2226 would decrease the maximum individual income tax rate from 5.75 percent on income in excess of \$17,000 to five percent on income in excess of \$5,000.

Senate Bill 788 would lower the rate of taxation for each individual income tax bracket by one-quarter percent each year for four years.

Senate Bill 1386 would impose lower individual income tax rates for income attributable to certain small businesses.

cc : Secretary of Finance

Date: 1/17/2017 NM SB1029F161