DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION
2017 Fiscal Impact Statement

1. Patron Vivian E. Watts 2. Bill Number HB 2058
House of Origin:

3. Committee Passed House and Senate Introduced
Substitute
Engrossed

4. Title Retail Sales and Use Tax; Dealer

Registration Based on Inventory Second House:

In Committee

______ Substitute
X Enrolled

5. Summary/Purpose:
This bill would clarify that the storage of inventory within the Commonwealth gives rise to
nexus sufficient to require an out-of-state seller to register as a dealer for the collection of

sales and use tax on sales to customers within Virginia.

Under current law, it is not clear whether the presence of inventory in Virginia is sufficient
to require a dealer to register with the Department.

The effective date of this bill is not specified.
6. Budget amendment necessary: No.
7. No Fiscal Impact. See Line 8.
8. Fiscal implications:

Administrative Costs Impact

The Department of Taxation considers implementation of this bill as routine and does not
require additional funding.
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Revenue Impact

State Sales and Use Tax (5.3%)
GF-Unrestricted (Excluding 0.25% Education) $ 7,489,381
GF-Restricted (Excluding 0.125% Education) 3,679,646
Transportation Trust Fund 2,973,451
Local Option 3,716,814
HMOF (GF Transfer) 371,681
Regional Transportation Funds 1,375,221

Other Non General Fund

Education (GF Transfer 0.125%) 464,602

Education SOQ (GF Transfer 0.250%) 929,204

Total General Fund $ 11,169,027

Total Sales and Use Tax $ 21,000,000

This proposal would generate new state and local annual revenue totaling $21 million
beginning in Fiscal Year 2018. The revenue impact of this bill is included in the
Introduced Executive Budget.
9. Specific agency or political subdivisions affected: Department of Taxation
10.Technical amendment necessary: No.

11.0Other comments:

Constitutional Nexus

The Commerce Clause of the U.S. Constitution reserves to Congress the power to
regulate commerce among the states and with foreign nations. The U.S. Supreme Court
has established a four-prong test to be used in determining whether a state tax on an out-
of-state corporation’s activities in interstate commerce violates the Commerce Clause. A
state may require an entity engaged in interstate commerce to collect taxes on its behalf
provided the tax is 1) applied to an activity with a substantial nexus with the taxing State;
2) is fairly apportioned; 3) does not discriminate against interstate commerce; and 4) is
fairly related to the services provided by the state. Complete Auto Transit, Inc. v. Brady,
430 U.S. 274, 279 (1977). The U.S. Supreme Court has determined, in Quill Corp. v.
North Dakota, 504 U.S. 298 (1992) that the Commerce Clause barred a state from
requiring an out-of-state mail-order company to collect use tax on goods sold to
customers located within the state when the company had no outlets, sales
representatives, or significant property in the state. In this case, the Court determined that
only Congress has the authority to require out-of-state vendors without a physical
presence in a state to register and collect that state’s tax.

Virginia law specifically sets out the standards for requiring out-of-state dealers to collect
the Virginia Retail Sales and Use Tax on sales into the Commonwealth. The law provides
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that a dealer is deemed to have sufficient activity within the Commonwealth to require that
dealer to register to collect the Virginia Retail Sales and Use Tax if the dealer:

e Maintains an office, warehouse, or place of business in the Commonwealth;

e Solicits business in the Commonwealth, by employees, independent contractors,
agents or other representatives;

e Advertises in Commonwealth publications, on billboards or posters located in the
Commonwealth, or through materials distributed in the Commonwealth;

e Regularly makes deliveries into the Commonwealth by means other than common
carrier;

e Continuously, regularly, seasonally, or systematically solicits business in the
Commonwealth through broadcast advertising;

e Solicits business in the Commonwealth by mail, provided the solicitations are
continuous, regular, seasonal, or systematic and the dealer benefits from any
banking, financing, debt collection, or marketing activities occurring in the
Commonwealth;

e Is owned or controlled by the same interests which own or control a business
located within this Commonwealth;

e Has a franchisee or licensee operating under the same trade name in the
Commonwealth, if the franchisee or licensee is required to obtain a certificate of
registration; or

e Owns tangible personal property that is rented or leased to a consumer in the
Commonwealth, or offers tangible personal property, on approval, to consumers in
the Commonwealth.

Actions by Other States

Restricted by the United States Constitution and the Supreme Court’s decision in Quill,
states have limited ability to require remote sellers to collect taxes on sales made into the
state. With growing retail sales on the Internet and declining tax receipts, states have
taken several different approaches to address to the revenue being lost from sales by out-
of-state retailers to the residents of their states. Although individuals who purchase goods
from out-of-state firms via the Internet or mail order owe their states of residence use tax
on their purchases in lieu of sales tax, states find it difficult to enforce this obligation.

States Challenging Quill

Six states currently have or are contemplating laws or administrative actions that directly
challenge the physical presence standard from Quill or try to circumvent Quill with use tax
reporting requirements.

Alabama has adopted Regulation 810-6-2-.90.03, effective January 1, 2016, which
creates nexus for out-of-state sellers with sales of $250,000 or more into the state when
those sellers do certain other enumerated activities such as use a warehouse or storage
place in the state or conduct certain solicitation related activities.
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South Dakota enacted S.B. 106 in 2016 requiring sales tax collection for sellers with either
annual sales into South Dakota in excess of $100,000 or 200 separate annual
transactions within the state.

In 2016, Tennessee put forth Proposed Rule 1320-05-01-129, which would require out-of-
state sellers with more than $500,000 of sales in the state who also systematically solicit
sales to register for the collection of sales tax.

Wyoming’s pre-filed bill H.B. 19 would require remote sellers to collect sales tax when
they annually have more than $100,000 in sales or at least 200 sales transactions into
Wyoming.

Vermont bill H. 873, signed into law as Act 134, requires out-of-state vendors who do not
remit sales tax to provide information on sales tax to Vermont purchasers. This law takes
effect on the earlier of July 1, 2017 or the first day of the first quarter after the new sales
and use tax reporting requirements are implemented in Colorado.

Colorado Rev. Stat. §39-21-112.3.5 imposes requirements on retailers who do not collect
sales taxes to do three things: (1) send a transactional notice to Colorado purchasers
notifying them they may be subject to Colorado use tax; (2) send Colorado customers
whose purchases total more than $500 an annual purchase summary reminding them of
their obligation to pay use taxes; and (3) send the Colorado Department of Revenue an
annual customer information report listing their customers’ names, addresses, and total
amounts spent.

Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement

The Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement (SSUTA) is an agreement that is the
result of a cooperative effort of states, local governments, and the business community to
simplify sales and use tax collection and administration by retailers and states. To date,
twenty-four states have passed legislation to conform to the SSUTA: Arkansas, Georgia,
Indiana, lowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey,
North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Tennessee,
Utah, Vermont, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming.

The SSUTA eases administrative burdens on retailers by embracing more efficient
administrative procedures, tax law simplification, and the utilization of emerging
technologies. Sales sax law simplification is achieved through, among other provisions,
uniform tax definitions, rate simplification, uniform sourcing, and the state-funding of the
administrative cost of participation.

Congressional Efforts

In 2013, the Senate passed the Marketplace Fairness Act of 2013 (S. 743) (MFA) to allow
states that joined SSUTA or took action to simplify their sales tax laws to require remote
sellers to collect their sales taxes. The legislation stalled in the House. Representative
Chaffetz has introduced the Remote Transactions Parity Act of 2015 (H. R. 2775) (RTPA),
which is very similar to the MFA.
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Representative Goodlatte has circulated an alternative to the RTPA, the Online Sales
Simplification Act of 2016 (Draft) (OSSA). The OSSA authorizes states to tax remote
sales if they participate in a new remote sales tax regime focused on simplifying sales tax
collection for remote sellers. Remote sellers would be required to collect sales tax for
each remote sale using the tax base of the state in which the seller is located and the tax
rate of the destination state. The OSSA mandates the creation of a clearinghouse which
would accept and process tax remittance payments from remote sellers and then
distribute those payments to participating states.

Virginia's Sales Tax Nexus

Under current law, the Retail Sales and Use Tax generally applies to sales of tangible
personal property to customers within Virginia. However, because the U.S. Supreme
Court’s held in Quill that the Commerce Clause requires physical presence as a
prerequisite for nexus, many out-of-state sellers avoid collecting sales tax on their sales to
Virginia customers by choosing not to have a physical presence within Virginia’s borders.
Many remote sellers who sell to Virginia customers store inventory in Virginia fulfillment
centers and warehouses owned by unrelated third parties. These sellers typically do not
have any other physical presence within the Commonwealth and therefore are arguably
not required to register as dealers for sales tax collection under current law because,
under Virginia law, having inventory stored within Virginia is not listed as one of the
factors requiring registration.

Proposal

Under this bill, the presence of inventory within Virginia in a fulfillment center or
warehouse will give rise to an out-of-state dealer’s obligation to collect sales tax on sales
to Virginia customers. This bill would allow Virginia to exercise the full authority granted to
all states under the Constitution as set forth in Quill.

Similar Legislation

Senate Bill 962 is identical to this bill.

cc : Secretary of Finance
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