SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 125

Commending the James Madison University football team.

Agreed to by the Senate, February 2, 2017

WHEREAS, the James Madison University football team earned its second national title on January 7, 2017, winning the National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I FCS Championship; and

WHEREAS, the James Madison University Dukes defeated the Youngstown State University Penguins by a score of 28-14 before a roaring crowd of more than 14,000 people at Toyota Stadium in Frisco, Texas; and

WHEREAS, in the nationally televised championship game, the James Madison Dukes took an early lead thanks to crucial special teams plays; a blocked punt led to a touchdown pass from quarterback Bryan Schor to tight end Jonathan Kloosterman and, after a shanked punt by Youngstown State University, the Dukes regained the ball at midfield, leading to a touchdown pass from Bryan Schor to wide receiver Rashard Davis in the first five minutes of the game; and

WHEREAS, the James Madison Dukes held the Youngstown State University's potent offense to only 21 rushing yards as James Madison's Khalid Abdullah rushed in an additional two touchdowns, including the game winner, in the second and third quarters; and

WHEREAS, senior Khalid Abdullah earned the Most Outstanding Player award for his 101-yard, two-score performance and broke the James Madison University football team's single-season record for

rushing yards; he was named as the American Sports Network FCS Player of the Year; and

WHEREAS, the James Madison Dukes finished the season with a 14-1 record and were undefeated in the Colonial Athletic Association (CAA); with 12 consecutive wins, the team holds the longest active win streak in Division I and was the first CAA team to win multiple national championships; and

WHEREAS, the James Madison Dukes led the nation in winning percentage and scoring margin, and ranked second in points scored; Mike Houston, head coach of the James Madison Dukes, was named the American Football Coaches Association National Coach of the Year and the CAA Coach of the Year for his exceptional leadership; and

WHÊREAS, seven James Madison Dukes were named as All-Americans and 14 players were All-CAA honorees; the team will return 12 of 22 starters in the 2017-2018 season, including Bryan Schor, who was named CAA Offensive Player of the Year and received the Bill Dudley Award as Virginia's top Division I football player; and

WHEREAS, the James Madison Dukes' national championship victory is a tribute to the skill and determination of the student-athletes, the leadership and guidance of the coaches and staff, and the energetic support of the entire James Madison University community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the Senate of Virginia, That the James Madison University football team hereby be commended for winning the National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I FCS Championship in 2017; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the Senate prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Mike Houston, head coach of the James Madison University football team, and Jonathan R. Alger, president of James Madison University, as an expression of the Senate of Virginia's admiration for the team's hard work and athletic achievements.