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2016 Fiscal Impact Statement

1. Bill Number: SB 354
House of Origin [ | Introduced [] Substitute [ ] Engrossed
Second House [] In Committee [ | Substitute X] Enrolled

2. Patron: Deeds

3. Committee: Passed both houses

4. Title: Limitation of prosecutions
5. Summary:

Under current law, there is a general requirement that prosecution of a misdemeanor must
commence within one year of the commission of the offense. There are numerous exceptions
to this requirement.

The proposed legislation would provide that prosecution for several misdemeanor sexual
offenses, including sexual battery, infected sexual battery, and sexual abuse, shall be
commenced no later than one year after the victim reaches majority.

6. Budget Amendment Necessary: Yes. Item 394. The Senate, in its amendments to the
budget bill, included funding for the fiscal impact of this legislation. The House included
funding for the fiscal impact of identical legislation in its amendments to the budget bill.

7. Fiscal Impact Estimates: Final. See Item 8 below.

Expenditure Impact:

Fiscal Year Dollars Fund
2017 $50,000 General
2018 $0
2019 $0
2020 $0
2021 $0
2022 $0

8. Fiscal Implications:

By extending the time within which a person could be prosecuted for a misdemeanor,
which is punishable with a sentence of up to 12 months in jail, the legislation could result in



10.

11.

more persons convicted of the specified offenses. Furthermore, a third conviction of one of
the specified offenses, sexual battery, constitutes a Class 6 felony, which is punishable by a
sentence of up to 12 months in jail or 1 to 5 years in prison. Therefore, this proposal could

result in an increase in the number of persons sentenced to jail or prison.

According to the Virginia Criminal Sentencing Commission, not enough information is
available to reliably estimate how many additional inmates in jail could result from this
proposal. Ultimately, the presiding judge will decide if there is to be any time served in jail;
however, any increase in jail population will increase costs to the state. The Commonwealth
presently pays the localities $4.00 a day for each misdemeanant or otherwise local
responsible prisoner held in a jail. It also funds the majority of the jails’ operating costs, e.g.
correctional officers. The state’s share of these costs varies from locality to locality.
According to the Compensation Board’s most recent Jail Cost Report (November 2015), the
estimated total state support for local jails averaged $32.24 per inmate, per day in FY 2014.

Due to the lack of data, the Virginia Criminal Sentencing Commission has concluded,
pursuant to §30-19.1:4 of the Code of Virginia, that the impact of the proposed legislation on

state-responsible (prison) bed space cannot be determined. In such cases, Chapter 665 of the
2015 Acts of Assembly requires that a minimum impact of $50,000 be assigned to the bill.

Specific Agency or Political Subdivisions Affected:
Department of Corrections

Compensation Board

Local and regional jails.

Technical Amendment Necessary: None.

Other Comments: Identical to HB 510, which also has been enrolled.
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