## 16105337D

3

9

10

11

12

13 14

15

16 17

18

19 20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

31

32

33

34

35

## SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 163

Offered February 17, 2016

Commending the Washington Redskins.

Patrons—Petersen, Lucas, Alexander, Barker, Black, Carrico, Chafin, Cosgrove, Dance, Deeds, DeSteph, Dunnavant, Ebbin, Edwards, Favola, Garrett, Hanger, Howell, Lewis, Locke, Marsden, McDougle, Miller, Norment, Obenshain, Reeves, Ruff, Saslaw, Stanley, Stuart, Sturtevant, Surovell, Vogel, Wagner and Wexton; Delegates: Albo, Collins, Fariss, Farrell, Fowler, Greason, Hugo, Ingram, Knight, Landes, Lingamfelter, Loupassi, Marshall, D.W., Marshall, R.G., Massie, McQuinn, Miyares, O'Bannon, Pogge, Poindexter, Rasoul, Stolle, Tyler, Villanueva and Ward

5 WHEREAS, the Washington Redskins, a storied American football franchise headquartered in Loudoun County, Virginia, won the NFC East Division in 2015 and reached the first round of the

Loudoun County, Virginia, won the NFC East Division in 2015 and reached the first round of the playoffs of the National Football League; and WHEREAS, the Washington Redskins organization traces its roots to 1932, when the team was first

WHEREAS, the Washington Redskins organization traces its roots to 1932, when the team was first established as the Boston Braves; the team relocated to Washington, D.C., and played its first game as the Washington Redskins on September 16, 1937; and

WHEREAS, the Washington Redskins have won five world championships, including the three Super Bowls played in 1983, 1988, and 1992, and the team has established itself as one of the most recognizable sports franchises in Virginia and around the world; and

WHEREAS, the Washington Redskins have had multiple players and coaches inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame, including Sammy Baugh, Bill Dudley, Ray Flaherty, Turk Edwards, Cliff Battles, Wayne Millner, Bobby Mitchell, Sonny Jurgensen, Sam Huff, Vince Lombardi, Chris Hanburger, Charley Taylor, George Allen, Ken Houston, John Riggins, Joe Gibbs, Darrell Green, Art Monk, Bruce Smith, and Russ Grimm; and

WHEREAS, the Washington Redskins organization has been historically associated with the Commonwealth of Virginia; the team has had its primary team offices and football training facilities in Virginia since 1972, and it has hosted its training camp in Richmond since 2013; and

WHEREAS, under the leadership of owner Daniel Snyder, the Washington Redskins have contributed to the larger community through the Washington Redskins Charitable Foundation, which has donated \$18 million since its founding in 2000 for charitable causes focused on education and wellness, as well as through the Redskins Alumni Association, comprising former players who raise private money for charitable causes; and

WHEREAS, after a hard-fought 2015 season, the Washington Redskins clinched the NFC East Division Championship with a 38-24 victory over the Philadelphia Eagles on December 26, 2015; and

WHEREAS, the 2015 win over the Eagles marked the Washington Redskins' historic 600th victory; only five teams in NFL history have reached such a milestone; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the Senate, the House of Delegates concurring, That the General Assembly hereby commend the Washington Redskins on the team's successful 2015 season; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the Senate prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to the leadership of the Washington Redskins as an expression of the General Assembly's admiration for the team's achievements and contributions to the Commonwealth.