2016 SESSION

ENROLLED

1

VIRGINIA ACTS OF ASSEMBLY - CHAPTER

2 An Act to amend and reenact § 33.2-1904 of the Code of Virginia, relating to the Northern Virginia 3 Transportation Commission; membership.

4 5

Approved

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of Virginia: 6

7 1. That § 33.2-1904 of the Code of Virginia is amended and reenacted as follows: 8

§ 33.2-1904. Northern Virginia Transportation District and Commission.

9 A. There is hereby created the Northern Virginia Transportation District (the District), comprising the 10 Counties of Arlington, Fairfax, and Loudoun; the Cities of Alexandria, Falls Church, and Fairfax; and such other county or city contiguous to the District that agrees to join the District. 11

12 B. There is hereby established the Northern Virginia Transportation Commission (the Commission) as a transportation commission pursuant to this chapter. The Commission shall consist of five nonlegislative 13 citizen members from Fairfax County, three nonlegislative citizen members from Arlington County, one 14 15 two nonlegislative citizen members from Loudoun County, two nonlegislative citizen members from the City of Alexandria, one nonlegislative member from the City of Falls Church, one 16 nonlegislative citizen member from the City of Fairfax, and the Chairman of the Commonwealth 17 18 Transportation Board or his designee to serve ex officio with voting privileges. If a county or city 19 contiguous to the District agrees to join the District, such locality shall appoint one nonlegislative citizen 20 member to the Commission. Members from the counties and cities shall be appointed from their 21 respective governing bodies. The Commission shall also include four members of the House of 22 Delegates appointed by the Speaker of the House of Delegates for terms coincident with their terms of 23 office and two members of the Senate appointed by the Senate Committee on Rules for terms coincident 24 with their terms of office. Members may be reappointed for successive terms. All members shall be 25 citizens of the Commonwealth. Except for the Chairman of the Commonwealth Transportation Board or 26 his designee, all members of the Commission shall be residents of the localities composing the District. 27 Vacancies occurring other than by expiration of a term shall be filled for the unexpired term. Vacancies 28 shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointments.

[H 181]

ENROLLED