## VIRGINIA ACTS OF ASSEMBLY -- 2015 SESSION

## CHAPTER 374

An Act to amend and reenact § 33.2-200 of the Code of Virginia, relating to membership of the Commonwealth Transportation Board.

[H 2164]

Approved March 19, 2015

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of Virginia:

1. That § 33.2-200 of the Code of Virginia is amended and reenacted as follows:

§ 33.2-200. Commonwealth Transportation Board; membership; terms; vacancies.

The Board shall have a total membership of 18 members that shall consist of 14 nonlegislative citizen members and four ex officio members as follows: the Secretary of Transportation, the Commissioner of Highways, the Director of the Department of Rail and Public Transportation, and the Executive Director of the Virginia Port Authority. The nonlegislative citizen members shall be appointed by the Governor as provided in § 33.2-201, subject to confirmation by the General Assembly<del>, and shall serve at the pleasure of the Governor</del>. Appointments of nonlegislative citizen members shall be for terms of four years commencing on July 1, upon the expiration of the terms of the existing members, respectively. Vacancies shall be filled by appointment by the Governor for the unexpired term and shall be effective until 30 days after the next meeting of the ensuing General Assembly and, if confirmed, thereafter for the remainder of the term. No nonlegislative citizen member shall be eligible to serve more than two consecutive four-year terms. The remainder of any term to which a member is appointed to fill a vacancy shall not constitute a term in determining that member's eligibility for reappointment. Ex officio members of the Board shall serve terms coincident with their terms of office.

The Secretary shall serve as chairman of the Board and shall have voting privileges only in the event of a tie. The Commissioner of Highways shall serve as vice-chairman of the Board and shall have voting privileges only in the event of a tie when he is presiding during the absence of the chairman. The Director of the Department of Rail and Public Transportation and the Executive Director of the Virginia Port Authority shall not have voting privileges.

2. That the provisions of this act shall become effective on July 1, 2016.