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1. Bill Number:   SB 1032 

 House of Origin  Introduced  Substitute  Engrossed  

 Second House  In Committee    Substitute  Enrolled 
 

2. Patron: Reeves 

 

3.  Committee: Passed both houses 

 
4. Title:  Sex Offender Registry 

 

5. Summary:   
 
  Under current law, persons convicted of designated offenses listed in Title 18.2 of the 

Code of Virginia are required to register as sex offenders.  In the former title of the Code that 
sets out criminal offenses, Title 18.1, some of these offenses had different Code section 
numbers than they do now.  As a consequence, persons previously convicted of sex offenses 
that had Code section numbers different from those that are now used are not required to 
register as sex offenders.  The proposed legislation would expand the list of offenses 
requiring registration to include those comparable offenses that had different section numbers 
in the prior Title 18.1. 

 
6. Budget Amendment Necessary:  No.  The appropriation for the projected fiscal impact of 

this legislation was included in the budget bill proposed by the Governor and both houses 
have included the funding in their respective budget bills. 

 
7.  Fiscal Impact Estimates:  Preliminary.  See Item 8 below. 

 

 Expenditure Impact: 

   

Fiscal Year Dollars Fund 

   

2013   

2014 $50,000 General 

2015   

2016   

2017   

2018   

8. Fiscal Implications:   
  
  By expanding the category of persons who must register with the sex offender registry, 

the proposed legislation may result in additional convictions of registry provisions.  The first 
violation of the sex offender registry provisions by someone required to register, but who is 



not defined as sexually violent, is a Class 1 misdemeanor, which is punishable by a sentence 
of up to 12 months in jail.  A second or subsequent violation is a Class 6 felony, punishable 
with a sentence of up to 12 months in jail or 1 to 5 years in prison.  If the offender required to 
register is defined as sexually violent, the first violation of sex offender registry requirements 
is a Class 6 felony; a second or subsequent violation is a Class 5 felony.  A Class 5 felony is 
punishable by a sentence of up to 12 months in jail or a sentence of 1 to 10 years in prison.  
Therefore, the legislation could result in an increase in the number of persons sentenced to 
jail or prison. 

 
  There is not enough information available to reliably estimate how many additional 

inmates in jail could result from this proposal.  Any increase in jail population will increase 
costs to the state.  The Commonwealth presently pays the localities $4.00 a day for each 
misdemeanant or otherwise local responsible prisoner held in a jail and $12.00 a day for each 
state responsible inmate.  It also funds a considerable portion of the jails’ operating costs, e.g. 
correctional officers.  The state’s share of these costs on a per prisoner, per day basis varies 
from locality to locality. However, according to the Compensation Board’s most recent Jail 
Cost Report (November 2012), the estimated total state support for local jails averaged 
$26.54 per inmate, per day in FY 2011. 

 
  Due to the lack of data, the Virginia Criminal Sentencing Commission has concluded, 

pursuant to §30-19.1:4 of the Code of Virginia, that the impact of the proposed legislation on 
state-responsible (prison) bed space cannot be determined.  In such cases, Chapter 3 of the 
2012 Acts of Assembly, Special Session I, requires that a minimum impact of $50,000 be 
assigned to the bill. 

 
  Unless the offender is under the supervision of the probation and parole district offices of 

the Department of Corrections, the Department of State Police is required to verify the home 
and work addresses of persons who register with the sex offender registry within 30 days of 
the initial registration, semiannually thereafter, and within 30 days of any change of address.  
It is estimated that there are approximately 150 offenders currently housed in prison that 
would be affected by this legislation.  However, it is not known how many non-incarcerated 
persons there are who would be affected by this legislation and whose registration 
information would have to be verified by the State Police.  Therefore, it is not feasible to 
estimate the extent to which the legislation would affect the workload of the State Police. 

 

9. Specific Agency or Political Subdivisions Affected:    
 Department of State Police 
 Department of Corrections 
 Local and regional jails 
 Compensation Board 
 
10. Technical Amendment Necessary:  None.  

 
11. Other Comments:  Identical to HB 1862. 
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