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2013 Fiscal Impact Statement

1. Bill Number: HB 1745
House of Origin [ | Introduced [] Substitute [ ] Engrossed
Second House [X] In Committee [ | Substitute [ ] Enrolled

2. Patron: Gilbert

3. Committee: Senate Courts of Justice

4. Title: Sex offenses involving children
5. Summary:

Under current law, it is a Class 5 felony for an adult, in person or by using electronic
means, such as over the Internet, with lascivious intent, to propose to a child younger than 15
to feel or fondle the sexual or genital parts of the adult or to allow the adult to feel or fondle
the sexual or genital parts of the victim. If the offender uses electronic means to
communicate with the child and is at least seven years older than the victim, the sentence is
enhanced from the 1 to 10 years in prison of a Class 5 felony to one of 5 to 30 years in
prison, with a five-year mandatory minimum. A second or subsequent conviction is subject
to a sentence of 10 years to 40 years, with a 10-year mandatory minimum.

Furthermore, it is a Class 5 felony for an adult to use electronic means to solicit a child
older than 15 but younger than 18 to commit such activities if the adult doing the proposing
is at least seven years older than the child. A second or subsequent conviction would be
subject to a sentence of 1 to 20 years in prison, with a one-year mandatory minimum.

The proposed legislation would expand the existing offenses to include the adult
proposing to the child that the child feel or fondle his or her own sexual or genital parts.

6. Budget Amendment Necessary: No. The budget bill proposed by the Governor included
funding for the fiscal impact of this legislation and the budget bill passed by the House of

Delegates includes the funding.

7. Fiscal Impact Estimates: Preliminary. See Item 8 below.



8.

10.

11.

Expenditure Impact:

Dollars Fund

2013
2014 $50,000 General
2015
2016
2017
2018

Fiscal Implications:

For someone convicted of a Class 5 felony, a judge has the option of sentencing him to
up to one year in jail, or 1 to 10 years in prison. In the case of the offense in question, the
sentence would be enhanced if the offender were at least seven years older than the victim.
Therefore, this proposal could result in an increase in the number of persons sentenced to jail
or prison.

There is not enough information available to reliably estimate how many additional
inmates in jail could result from this proposal. Any increase in jail population will increase
costs to the state. The Commonwealth presently pays the localities $4.00 a day for each
misdemeanant or otherwise local responsible prisoner held in a jail and $12.00 a day for each
state responsible inmate. It also funds a considerable portion of the jails’ operating costs, e.g.
correctional officers. The state’s share of these costs on a per prisoner, per day basis varies
from locality to locality. However, according to the Compensation Board’s most recent Jail
Cost Report (November 2012), the estimated total state support for local jails averaged
$26.54 per inmate, per day in FY 2011.

Due to the lack of data, the Virginia Criminal Sentencing Commission has concluded,
pursuant to §30-19.1:4 of the Code of Virginia, that the impact of the proposed legislation on
state-responsible (prison) bed space cannot be determined. In such cases, Chapter 3 of the
2012 Acts of Assembly, Special Session I, requires that a minimum impact of $50,000 be
assigned to the bill.

Specific Agency or Political Subdivisions Affected:
Department of Corrections

Compensation Board

Local and regional jails

Technical Amendment Necessary: None.

Other Comments: Identical to SB 1031.
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