	13100030D
1 2	HOUSE BILL NO. 1384 Offered January 9, 2013
2 3	Prefiled December 13, 2012
4	A BILL to amend and reenact § 30-282 of the Code of Virginia, relating to office space of the Joint
5	Commission on Transportation Accountability.
6	
_	Patron—May
7	
8 9	Referred to Committee on Rules
9 10	Be it enacted by the General Assembly of Virginia:
10	1. That § 30-282 of the Code of Virginia is amended and reenacted as follows:
12	§ 30-282. Joint Commission on Transportation Accountability established; composition; terms;
13	compensation and expenses; quorum; voting on recommendations.
14	There is hereby established in the legislative branch of state government the Joint Commission on
15	Transportation Accountability. The Commission shall consist of six members of the House of Delegates
16	appointed by the Speaker of the House of Delegates, of whom at least three shall be members of the
17	House Committee on Transportation; four members of the Senate appointed by the Senate Committee on
18	Rules of whom at least two shall be members of the Senate Committee on Transportation; and the
19	Auditor of Public Accounts, who shall serve as a nonvoting ex officio member. Members shall serve
20	terms coincident with their terms of office as members of the House of Delegates and the Senate.
21	Members may be reappointed for successive terms.
22	Members of the Commission shall receive such compensation as provided in § 30-19.12 and shall be
23	reimbursed for all their reasonable and necessary expenses incurred in the performance of their duties as
24 25	members of the Commission. Funding for the costs of compensation and expenses of the members shall be provided from existing appropriations to the Commission. Adequate office space shall be provided by
23 26	the Commonwealth.

The Commission shall annually elect a chairman and a vice-chairman from among its membership.
Meetings of the Commission shall be held upon the call of the chairman or whenever the majority of the members so request. A majority of the members appointed to the Commission shall constitute a quorum.