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1. Bill Number:  HB 216 

 House of Origin  X  Introduced        Substitute        Engrossed 

 Second House       In Committee        Substitute        Enrolled 
 

2.  Patron: McClellan 

 

3.  Committee: House Courts of Justice 
 

4. Title: Assaults of persons issued protective orders 

 

5. Summary:   
  

  Under current law, assault and battery is a Class 1 misdemeanor.  A conviction of assault 

and battery against a family or household member is a Class 6 felony if the offender has had, 

within the previous 20 years, two previous convictions, in any combination, of (i) assault and 

battery against a family or household member, (ii) malicious wounding, (iii) aggravated 

malicious wounding, or (iv) malicious bodily injury by means of a substance. 

 

  The proposed legislation would expand the Class 6 felony offense to include assault and 

battery of a person who is protected by protective order issued against the person committing 

the assault and battery.  The result would be that any person committing assault and battery 

against a person protected by protective order from the person committing the offense would 

be guilty of a Class 6 felony if, within the previous 20 years, he had been convicted of two 

previous counts, in any combination, of  (i) assault against a family or household member, (ii) 

assault against a person protected by a protective order issued against the offender 

committing the assault and battery, (iii) malicious wounding, (iv) aggravated malicious 

wounding, or (v) malicious bodily injury by means of a substance.  

 

6. Fiscal Impact Estimates:  Preliminary.  See Item 8. 

 Expenditure Impact:   

Fiscal Year Dollars Fund  

    

2011 $542,002 General  

2012 $0   

2013 $0   

2014 $0   

2015 $0   

2016 $0   

 

7. Budget Amendment Necessary:   Yes.  Item 380. 

  

8. Fiscal Implications:    



 

 Anyone convicted of a Class 1 misdemeanor is subject to a sentence of up to 12 months 

in jail.  For someone convicted of a Class 6 felony, a judge has the option of sentencing him 

to up to one year in jail, or 1 to 5 years in prison.  Therefore, this proposal could result in an 

increase in the number of persons sentenced to jail or prison. 

 

 Pursuant to §30-19.1:4 of the Code of Virginia, the Virginia Criminal Sentencing 

Commission estimate a fiscal impact of $542,002 (the highest annual cost over the next six 

years).  The amount is based on the projection that the legislation will result in approximately 

20 additional inmates being incarcerated in prison. 

  

9. Specific Agency or Political Subdivisions Affected:   

 

 Department of Corrections 

 Local and regional jails 

  

10. Technical Amendment Necessary:  None. 

  

11. Other Comments:  None. 
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