

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 405

Offered January 28, 2009

Commending the Virginia Tech football team as the Atlantic Coast Conference Champions and the winners of the 75th FedEx Orange Bowl.

Patrons—Edwards, Barker, Blevins, Colgan, Cuccinelli, Deeds, Hanger, Herring, Houck, Howell, Hurt, Locke, Lucas, Marsh, Martin, McDougle, McEachin, Miller, J.C., Miller, Y.B., Newman, Norment, Northam, Obenshain, Petersen, Puckett, Puller, Quayle, Reynolds, Ruff, Saslaw, Smith, Stolle, Stosch, Stuart, Ticer, Vogel, Wagner, Wampler, Watkins and Whipple

WHEREAS, the triumphant Hokies of Virginia Tech are celebrated as the 2008 Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) Champions and the winners of the 75th FedEx Orange Bowl; and

WHEREAS, quarterback Tyrod Taylor scored two rushing touchdowns and the exemplary defense forced four turnovers, as the Hokies claimed their second straight ACC title and their third title in five years with a 30-12 victory over the Boston College Eagles in the ACC championship game held at Raymond James Stadium in Tampa, Florida, on December 6, 2008; and

WHEREAS, Tyrod Taylor was named the game's most valuable player, but the Hokies made big plays in every phase of the championship game both on offense and defense; and

WHEREAS, in a crowning achievement to the delight of Hokie fans, Virginia Tech defeated the University of Cincinnati Bearcats, champions of the Big East Conference, in the 75th FedEx Orange Bowl held at Dolphin Stadium in Miami Gardens, Florida, on January 1, 2009; and

WHEREAS, following an early Bearcats score, Darren Evans rushed for 100 yards and Tech's tough defense intercepted four passes to dominate the University of Cincinnati by a score of 20-7; and

WHEREAS, Virginia Tech ran the ball 55 times for 258 yards in the FedEx Orange Bowl, the most yards gained on the ground at an Orange Bowl game since 1998; and

WHEREAS, the Hokies' FedEx Orange Bowl win marks Virginia Tech's first major bowl game victory since defeating the University of Texas in the Sugar Bowl in 1995; and

WHEREAS, a tremendous team effort throughout the regular season and the postseason championship tournament contributed to a remarkable season for all of the hardworking and talented Hokies; and

WHEREAS, a young Virginia Tech team overcame some tough early-season losses, battling back to complete its 2008 season with four straight wins and a 10-4 overall record; and

WHEREAS, the triumphant performance of the 2008 Virginia Tech football team is a tribute to the perseverance of the players, the leadership of Head Coach Frank Beamer and his staff, and the support of the enthusiastic students, faculty, alumni, and fans; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the Senate, the House of Delegates concurring, That the General Assembly hereby commend and congratulate the 2008 Virginia Tech football team as the Atlantic Coast Conference Champions and the winners of the 75th FedEx Orange Bowl; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the Senate prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Head Coach Frank Beamer as an expression of the General Assembly's admiration for the championship performance of the Hokies of Virginia Tech.