6

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 750

Offered January 16, 2009

Commending the James Monroe High School football team.

Patron—Howell, W.J.

WHEREAS, the 2008 James Monroe High School football team of Fredericksburg capped an outstanding season by winning the Virginia High School League Group AA, Division 3 state

championship; and WHEREAS, the James Monroe High School Yellow Jackets (13 - 1) clinched the state title in a game played at Liberty University's Williams Stadium on December 6, 2008; the Yellow Jackets secured the win in an exciting 50 - 46 victory over a previously undefeated Brookville High School team; and

WHEREAS, on their way to the state title, the Battlefield District champion Yellow Jackets captured the Region I title by decisively defeating Brunswick High School 48 - 7 and Nottoway High School 35 - 18 and moved on to beat Monticello High School 44 - 41 in a close battle in the Division 3 semifinal game; and

WHEREAS, Coach Serbay and his Yellow Jackets have appeared in four Division 3 finals, and James Monroe High School's state title win is the first for any Fredericksburg-area team since 2001; and

WHEREAS, in a tough defensive matchup that was determined in the last five minutes of the game, the Yellow Jackets and Brookville High School Bees combined for 96 points and 1,069 yards from scrimmage, but an interception by James Monroe High School senior DeVontae Atkins sealed the victory with just a minute remaining; and

WHEREAS, James Monroe High School senior quarterback John Jackson passed for 341 yards and a Virginia High School League state playoff record of five touchdowns; and

WHEREAS, other hardworking James Monroe High School players Greg Edwards, Tyran Bates, Delonte Fleming, Mike Latney, Farkeem French, Gage Ford, Zhavelle Roberts, Kilo Brooks, Randy Ryan, Travis Writt, Dajour Betancourt, Daniel Armstead, Jacob Tasker, Keenan Carter, Jamal Smith, Ron King, Deandre McCallum, James Prud'Homme, Travis Finnie, Dovan Allen, Matt Bailey, Charlie McDaniel, Andrew Carter, Ethan Preston, Chris Griffin, Allan Carter, John McAuliff, Nick Kroko, Robert McClure, Chris Edler, David Thacher, Justin Shelton, Marcus Bell, Roberto Ramzey, Devin Atkins, Nelson King, Danny Thacher, Mike Worman, Will Campbell, Jake Kroko, David Hunt, Devin Lewis, Karon Rowe, Judson Willard, Nathan Mensah, David Arispe, Emerson Lockett, Aaron White, Nick Davis, Jake Stinson, Jimmy Clayton, and John Grinnan also made valuable contributions in a tremendous team effort in the championship games and throughout the season; and

WHEREAS, the triumphant performance of the 2008 Yellow Jackets is a tribute to the talent, dedication, and perseverance of the players; the leadership of Head Coach Rich Serbay and his staff; and the support of the students and faculty of James Monroe High School; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring, That the General Assembly hereby commend and congratulate the Yellow Jackets from James Monroe High School as the Virginia High School League Group AA, Division 3 state champions; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Head Coach Rich Serbay as an expression of the General Assembly's admiration for the outstanding 2008 season of the James Monroe High School football team.