
State Corporation Commission 

2008 Fiscal Impact Statement 
 

1. Bill Number:   HB1487 

 House of Origin  __ Introduced X Substitute        Engrossed 

 Second House   X    In Committee        Substitute        Enrolled 
 

2. Patron: Suit 

 

3.  Committee: Commerce and Labor 

 

4. Title: Home ownership protection.  

 

5. Summary:  Home ownership protection.  Authorizes the State Corporation Commission to 

impose a fine not exceeding $2,500 upon a mortgage lender or mortgage broker that is 

required to be licensed under the Mortgage Lender and Broker Act for violating any other law 

or regulation applicable to the conduct of the lender's or broker's business. The Housing 

Commission is directed to study all new federal legislation pertaining to mortgage lending 

and brokering, and to determine if they require changes to Virginia law. The measure 

authorizes the Commission to suspend or revoke a mortgage lender's or broker's license upon 

its failure promptly to pay when due reasonable fees to a licensed appraiser for appraisal 

services performed in connection with the origination or closing of a mortgage loan for a 

customer of the mortgage broker or lender. Other amendments to the Mortgage Lender and 

Broker Act (i) remove the element of the definition of a mortgage loan that has required the 

property securing the loan to be owner-occupied; (ii) require the Commission to conduct 

background checks on every member, senior officer, director, and principal of a licensee; (iii) 

require licensees to conduct background checks on employees who may have access to or 

process personal identifying or financial information from a member of the public; (iv) 

require licensees to ensure that employees are properly trained in applicable state and federal 

mortgage lending laws and regulations; and (v) authorize the Attorney General to bring 

actions to enforce specific provisions of the federal RESPA that, pursuant to the federal law, 

may be enforced by the federal Department of Housing and Urban Development, a state 

Attorney General, or a state insurance commissioner. 

 

6. Fiscal Impact Estimates: Preliminary.  See Item 8.  

 

7. Budget Amendment Necessary:   No. 

  

8. Fiscal Implications:   Estimates are preliminary since it is difficult to ascertain the number 

of entities that will require licensing as a result of amending the definition of “mortgage 

loan.”  The Bureau of Financial Institutions examination processes and procedures will be 

adapted to incorporate new requirements under the proposed legislation.  Additionally, the 

Bureau estimates it will conduct several thousand background checks each year at an 

approximate cost of $25 per transaction.   The Bureau estimates that at a minimum, an 

additional three examiner positions will be required at a total cost of $195,000 (salary, 

benefits and travel costs) and an additional two clerical positions will be required at a total 

cost of $80,000 (salary and benefits).  Pursuant to § 6.1-420 of the Code of Virginia, 



mortgage licensees pay an annual fee to the State Corporation Commission to defray all costs 

of examination, supervision and regulation. 

    

 

9. Specific Agency or Political Subdivisions Affected:  State Corporation Commission and its 

Bureau of Financial Institutions and the Virginia Housing Commission 

  

10. Technical Amendment Necessary:  No 

  

11. Other Comments:  None 

  

  
Date:  2/19/2008   ejf 
cc:  Secretary of Commerce and Trade   


