1

2

3

4

5 6

7

8 9

10

11 12

13

14 15

16

17

18

19

20 21

22 23 24

25

26 27

29

30

31

32

33

34

35

076604436 **HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 785**

Offered January 19, 2007

Commending the Pulaski County High School Theatre Arts Department.

Patrons—Nutter and Crockett-Stark

WHEREAS, the Pulaski County High School Players won the Virginia High School League Group AA state theatre championship held at the Martin Luther King Performing Arts Center in Charlottesville on Monday, December 4, 2006, for its original one-act play The Other Side of the Story, a 32-minute play as told from the perspective of fairy tale villains; and

WHEREAS, the 38 members of the Pulaski County High School (PCHS) Players did all they could to inspire and assist their outstanding drama teacher and director, Jeff McCoy, in writing the award-winning play; and

WHEREAS, junior Josh O'Dell was the arranger and accompanist for the play, and he collaborated with his teacher, Jeff McCoy, in creating the music and lyrics of the play's five original songs, "Fairytale Land Theme Song," "The Villains, Big of Me," "What Every Mother Should Know," and "Everything is Not as it Appears"; and

WHEREAS, the championship PCHS Players of the Pulaski County High School Theatre Arts Department that made up the cast and crew of The Other Side of the Story are Spencer Albert, Kristi Carden, Amber Estes, Kaity Albert, Meghan Ratcliffe, Joe Toscano, Hayes Owens, Kayla Wright, Danielle Norris, Devin Altizer, Brian Snider, Luke Anderson, Thomy Owens, Marissa Clark, Danielle Kincer, Michael Trujillo, Chandish Nester, Hannah Tucker, Michael Warburton, Ryan Turpin, Joey Hester, Jen Goldstein, Marlena Rabago, Sarah Rodden, Josh O'Dell, Josh Simpkins, Brent Davis, Thomas Hash, Sam Hester, Jon Simpkins, Hayle Barbour, Brittany Finn, Zach Kilgore, Ashlee Linkous, Danielle Waller, and McKinley Craft; and two of the PCHS Players, Jessi Durham and Aaron Sifford, won individual state acting awards for their portrayals; and

WHEREAS, the triumphant performance of the PCHS Players was an overall team effort and a tribute to the talent, dedication, and perseverance of the theatre students; the leadership of teacher and director, Jeff McCoy; and the support of the students, faculty, and parents of Pulaski County High School: now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring, That the General Assembly commend and congratulate the members of the Pulaski County High School Players on their Virginia High School League Group AA state theatre championship; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Jeff McCoy on behalf of the Pulaski County High School Players as an expression of the General Assembly's appreciation of the students' commitment to the performing arts and award-winning productions.