069397828

1

2

3

5 6

7

8

9

10

11 12

13

14 15

16

17 18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28 29

30

31

32

33

34

35

36

37

38 39

40

## **SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 252**

Offered February 20, 2006

Commending W. Tayloe Murphy, Jr.

Patrons—Ticer, Bell, Blevins, Colgan, Cuccinelli, Deeds, Devolites Davis, Edwards, Hawkins, Herring, Howell, Locke, Lucas, Marsh, Martin, McDougle, Miller, Newman, Norment, Obenshain, O'Brien, Puckett, Puller, Rerras, Reynolds, Ruff, Saslaw, Stolle, Wagner, Watkins and Whipple; Delegates: Alexander, Amundson, Barlow, Brink, Bulova, Caputo, Ebbin, Eisenberg, Englin, Howell, A.T., Lewis, Marsden, McClellan, Moran, Plum, Scott, J.M., Shannon, Sickles and Ward

WHEREAS, W. Tayloe Murphy, Jr., respected citizen, longtime member of the House of Delegates, and exemplary former Secretary of Natural Resources, is recognized for his outstanding service to the Commonwealth of Virginia; and

WHEREAS, W. Tayloe Murphy, Jr., was born in Emmerton in Richmond County, attended Warsaw High School, earned his undergraduate degree from Hampden-Sydney College in 1953, and received his law degree from the University of Virginia School of Law in 1960; and

WHEREAS, W. Tayloe Murphy, Jr., served his country in the United States Navy Reserve from 1954 to 1957; and

WHEREAS, a member of the House of Delegates from 1982 to 2000 representing the 99th District, W. Tayloe Murphy, Jr., served as the chairman of the Committee on Commerce and Labor and as a member of the Committee for Courts of Justice, the Committee on Corporations, Insurance, and Banking, and the Committee on the Chesapeake Bay and Its Tributaries; and

WHEREAS, W. Tayloe Murphy, Jr., patroned important legislation for the citizens of the Commonwealth and was instrumental in the passage of the Chesapeake Bay Preservation Act and the Virginia Water Quality Improvement Act; and

WHEREAS, because of W. Tayloe Murphy, Jr.'s experience and considerable expertise, he was appointed to serve as a member of the Chesapeake Bay Commission and the Virginia Code Commission, as well as the chairman of the Joint Legislative Audit and Review Commission during its two-year review of the Virginia Department of Environmental Quality; and

WHEREAS, W. Tayloe Murphy, Jr., has served on numerous local and state civic and professional organizations, as the chairman of the Westmoreland County Planning Commission and Westmoreland County Board of Zoning Appeals, as the president of the Westmoreland Ruritan Club, as a director of the Northern Neck State Bank, and as a member of the Southern Growth Policies Board, the Northern Neck Historical Society, the Northern Neck Bar Association, the Council of the Virginia State Bar, and the American Bar Association; and

WHEREAS, W. Tayloe Murphy, Jr., is a devoted member and chancellor of Cople Parish Episcopal Church; and

WHEREAS, W. Tayloe Murphy, Jr., has served the Commonwealth with great distinction and an uncommon commitment to the conservation and stewardship of Virginia's beautiful and cherished natural resources; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the Senate, the House of Delegates concurring, That the General Assembly commend W. Tayloe Murphy, Jr., for his longtime and outstanding service to the Commonwealth; and,

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the Senate prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to W. Tayloe Murphy, Jr., as an expression of the General Assembly's gratitude for his dedication to environmental concerns and the well-being of the citizens of Virginia.