9

SENATE BILL NO. 423

Offered January 11, 2006 Prefiled January 11, 2006

A BILL to amend and reenact §§ 33.1-1 and 33.1-2 of the Code of Virginia and to amend the Code of Virginia by adding a section numbered 33.1-23.05, relating to composition of the Commonwealth Transportation Board and the number of and territory embraced by highway construction districts.

Patron—Williams

Referred to Committee on Transportation

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of Virginia:

1. That §§ 33.1-1 and 33.1-2 of the Code of Virginia are amended and reenacted and that the Code of Virginia is amended by adding a section numbered 33.1-23.05 as follows:

§ 33.1-1. State Highway and Transportation Board continued as Commonwealth Transportation Board; number and terms of members; removal from office; vacancies.

The State Highway and Transportation Board, formerly known as the State Highway and Transportation Commission, is continued and shall hereafter be known as the Commonwealth Transportation Board. Wherever either "Commission" or "Board" is used in this title referring to the State Highway and Transportation Board or the State Highway and Transportation Commission, it shall mean the Commonwealth Transportation Board.

The Board shall consist of seventeen15 members: the Secretary of Transportation, the Commonwealth Transportation Commissioner, the Director of the Department of Rail and Public Transportation, and fourteen12 citizen members. The citizen members shall be (i) appointed by the Governor as provided in § 33.1-2, (ii) subject to confirmation by the General Assembly, and (iii) removable from office during their respective terms by the Governor at his pleasure. Appointments of citizen members shall be for terms of four years commencing upon July 1, upon the expiration of the terms of the existing members, respectively. The initial terms of the members appointed in January, 1987, shall commence when appointed and shall be for terms ending June 30, 1988, June 30, 1989, and June 30, 1990, respectively. Vacancies shall be filled by appointment by the Governor for the unexpired term and shall be effective until thirty days after the next meeting of the ensuing General Assembly and, if confirmed, thereafter for the remainder of the term. No person shall be eligible to serve more than two successive terms of four years, other than the Secretary of Transportation, the Commonwealth Transportation Commissioner, and the Director of the Department of Rail and Public Transportation. A person heretofore or hereafter appointed to fill a vacancy may serve two additional successive terms.

The Secretary of Transportation shall serve as Chairman of the Board. The Secretary shall have voting privileges only in the event of a tie. The Commonwealth Transportation Commissioner shall serve as Vice-Chairman of the Board. The Commissioner shall have voting privileges only in the event of a tie when he is presiding during the absence of the Chairman. The Director of the Department of Rail and Public Transportation shall serve without a vote.

Whenever in this title and in the Code of Virginia "State Highway Commission" or "State Highway and Transportation Board" is used, it shall mean "Commonwealth Transportation Board"; "State Highway Commissioner" or "State Highway and Transportation Commissioner" shall mean "Commonwealth Transportation Commissioner"; and all references to "Department of Highways and Transportation" shall refer to the Department of Transportation.

§ 33.1-2. Residence requirements; statewide interest.

Of such Board, one member shall be a resident of the territory now included in the Bristol construction district, one in the Salem construction district, one in the Lynchburg construction district, one in the Staunton construction district, one in the Culpeper construction district, one in the Fredericksburg construction district, one in the Richmond construction district, one in the Hampton Roads construction district and one in the Northern Virginia construction district each of the seven highway construction districts established in § 33.1-23.05. The remaining five members shall be appointed from the Commonwealth at large, but at least two shall reside in standard metropolitan statistical areas and be designated as urban at-large members, and at least two shall reside outside standard metropolitan statistical areas and be designated as rural at-large members. The at-large members shall be appointed to represent rural and urban transportation needs and be mindful of the concerns of seaports and seaport users, airports and airport users, railways and railway users, and mass transit and mass transit users. Each member so appointed shall be mindful of the best interest of the Commonwealth at large primarily instead of those of the district from which chosen or of the

SB423 2 of 2

transportation interest represented.

§ 33.1-23.05. Localities comprising highway construction districts.

The Commonwealth shall be divided into seven highway construction districts as follows:

The Northern Virginia District, consisting of the Counties of Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun, and Prince William and the Cities of Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls Church, Manassas, and Manassas Park;

The Richmond/Petersburg District, consisting of the Counties of Charles City, Chesterfield, Dinwiddie, Goochland, Hanover, Henrico, New Kent, Powhatan, and Prince George and the Cities of Colonial Heights, Hopewell, Petersburg, and Richmond;

The Hampton Roads District, consisting of the Counties of Gloucester, Isle of Wight, James City, and York and the Cities of Chesapeake, Hampton, Newport News, Norfolk, Poquoson, Portsmouth, Suffolk,

69 and Virginia Beach;70 The Shenandoah

The Shenandoah District, consisting of the Counties of Allegheny, Augusta, Bath, Botetourt, Clarke, Craig, Floyd, Frederick, Giles, Highland, Montgomery, Page, Pulaski, Roanoke, Rockbridge, Rockingham, Shenandoah, and Warren and the Cities of Buena Vista, Covington, Harrisonburg, Lexington, Radford, Roanoke, Salem, Staunton, Waynesboro, and Winchester;

The Rappahannock District, consisting of the Counties of Accomack, Albemarle, Caroline, Culpeper, Essex, Fauquier, Fluvanna, Greene, King George, King William, Lancaster, Louisa, Madison, Mathews, Middlesex, Nelson, Northampton, Northumberland, Orange, Rappahannock, Richmond, Spotsylvania,

Stafford, and Westmoreland, and the Cities of Charlottesville and Fredericksburg;

The Southside District, consisting of the Counties of Amelia, Amherst, Appomattox, Bedford, Brunswick, Buckingham, Campbell, Charlotte, Cumberland, Franklin, Greenville, Halifax, Henry, Lunenburg, Mecklenburg, Nottoway, Patrick, Pittsylvania, Prince Edward, Southampton, Surry, and Sussex, and the Cities of Bedford, Danville, Emporia, Franklin, Lynchburg, and Martinsville; and

The Southwest District, consisting of the Counties of Bland, Buchanan, Carroll, Dickenson, Grayson, Lee, Russell, Scott, Smyth, Tazewell, Washington, and Wise, and the Cities of Bristol, Galax, and

84 Norton.

60

61

64

65

66

67

68

71

72

73 74

75

76

77

78 79 80

81

82

83

85 2. That the provisions of this act shall not affect members of the Commonwealth Transportation Board appointed prior to January 1, 2008.

87 3. That the provisions of this act shall become effective on January 1, 2008.