

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 261

Offered February 2, 2006

Commending the game wardens of the Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries.

Patrons—Lingamfelter, Shuler, Abbitt, Armstrong, Bowling, Carrico, Ebbin, Eisenberg, Englin, Fralin, Frederick, Gilbert, Hamilton, Hargrove, Howell, A.T., Hurt, Ingram, Janis, Joannou, Johnson, Jones, S.C., Lewis, Lohr, Marshall, D.W., Marshall, R.G., May, McClellan, McQuigg, O'Bannon, Oder, Orrock, Parrish, Peace, Phillips, Scott, E.T., Valentine, Ware, O., Ware, R.L., Wittman and Wright

WHEREAS, on August 29, 2005, Hurricane Katrina completely devastated the Mississippi Gulf Coast east of New Orleans, causing unprecedented property damage and overwhelming human suffering in Mississippi, Louisiana, and other Gulf Coast states; and

WHERÊAS, as the full extent of this devastation was realized in the weeks following the storm, government agencies at the local, state, and federal levels, as well as countless nongovernmental and charitable organizations from across the nation, unselfishly responded to numerous calls for aid and assistance; and

WHEREAS, the Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries' Law Enforcement Division, as a member of the Virginia Law Enforcement Task Force, responded to these calls by sending numerous game wardens and supervisors to some of the hardest hit Mississippi localities; and

WHEREAS, game wardens from the Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, participating in six deployments of the Virginia Law Enforcement Task Force from September 20 until December 16, 2005, provided basic law-enforcement services, humanitarian assistance, and preventive patrols to the devastated Mississippi communities of Bay St. Louis, Waveland, Pearlington, Long Beach, and Pass Christian; and

WHEREAS, the relief effort provided by the following personnel—Leonhardt Anderson, Sgt. Paul Atkins, Mitch Beatley, Eric Benninger, Brant Bottomley, Sgt. Kevin Clarke, John Cobb, Sgt. Ken Conger, Jim Croft, Marshall Crosby, Mark Diluigi, Kris Dougherty, Kenneth Dove, Steve Ferguson, Rich Goszka, Sgt. Clark Greene, Jason Harris, Sgt. Keith Harver, Capt. Ron Henry, Elmo Herndon, Shawn Hopson, Aaron Hurd, Randy Hurst, Adam Keeter, Bruce Lemmert, Sgt. Ben Lewis, Bradley Luxford, Carl Martin, Capt. Bobby Mawyer, Charlie Mullins, Sgt. John Ober, Sgt. Phil Parrish, Major Steve Pike, Sgt. Bill Powers, John Puckett, Sgt. Milt Robinson, Daniel Ross, Brett Saunders, George Steele, Sgt. Harry Street, Chip Street, Chris Thomas, Ronnie Warren, Capt. Dabney Watts, and Bryan Young—was representative of the altruism, devotion, and courage of all of the law-enforcement officers of the Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring, That the General Assembly hereby commend the game wardens of the Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries listed above, who professionally and unselfishly provided effective and exemplary service to their fellow citizens in Mississippi; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Colonel W. Gerald Massengill, Director, as an expression of the General Assembly's admiration for the response of the Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries in support of the Hurricane Katrina relief efforts.