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1. Bill Number   SB 384 

 House of Origin  Introduced  Substitute  Engrossed 

 Second House  In Committee  Substitute  Enrolled 
 

2. Patron Norment 
 

3.  Committee Passed both houses 
 

4. Title Driving while intoxicated 

 

5. Summary/Purpose:   
  
  Under current law, driving while intoxicated (DWI) is a Class 1 misdemeanor, while a 

third or subsequent offense is a Class 6 felony.  The current statutes also provide mandatory 
minimum sentences of time in jail for second or subsequent convictions of driving while 
intoxicated (DWI) or for driving with significantly elevated blood alcohol content (BAC).  
The proposed legislation would increase these mandatory minimum penalties, as follows: 

 
  Elevated BAC 

 
  Current law 

 BAC First Offense Second Offense w/in 10 years 
 

0.20-0.25 5 days 10 days 
More than 0.25 10 days 20 days 
 

 Proposed 

 
   BAC First Offense Second Offense w/in 10 years 
 
 0.15-0.20 5 days 10 days 

More than 0.20 10 days 20 days 
 
 

 Subsequent Offenses 

 

Offense Current law Proposed legislation 

   

Second within 5 years 5 days 20 days 

Second within 5-10 years 0 days 10 days 

   

Third within 5 years 30 days 180 days 

Third within 5-10 years 10 days 90 days 



 
 
  Finally, the bill would prohibit any sentence imposed for reckless driving or DWI with a 

revoked driver’s license from running concurrently with any other sentence and would 
increase the length of time for suspension of a driver’s license for the subsequent refusals of a 
person to consent to a breath or blood test. 

 

6. Fiscal Impact Estimates:  Final.  See Item 8. 

Expenditure Impact: 
Fiscal Year Dollars Fund 

2004-05 $151,840 General 
2005-06 $210,840 General 
2006-07 $224,840 General 
2007-08 $236,520 General 
2008-09 $242,360 General 
2009-10 $245,280 General 

 
7. Budget amendment necessary:   Yes.  Item 67. 
  
8. Fiscal implications:    
  
  Pursuant to Sec. 30-19.1:4 of the Code of Virginia, the Virginia Criminal Sentencing 

Commission has determined that the proposed legislation would not require an appropriation 
related to the increase in the number of prison beds projected to result from this legislation. 

 
  However, due to the increases in minimum mandatory jail sentences for persons 

convicted of DUI proposed by the legislation, there would be an increase in the number of 
persons held in local and regional jails.  For each person held in jail on a misdemeanor 
conviction, the Commonwealth reimburses the localities $8.00 per day.  The fiscal impacts 
noted in Item 6 are the additional per diem payments the Commonwealth would be obligated 
to pay localities, based on the Sentencing Commission’s projected increase in jail beds 
resulting from the proposed legislation.  Neither the House nor the Senate provided funds in 
their budget amendments to cover the additional costs projected for this legislation. 

 

9. Specific agency or political subdivisions affected:    
  
 Compensation Board 
 Local and regional jails 
 
10. Technical amendment necessary:   None. 
  
11. Other comments:  Most of the provisions of this bill are included, to some extent, in HB 

667, 1107, and 1147.  In addition, there are several other bills that increase other aspects of 
the penalties for DUI.  These include HB 889, HB 1132, and SB 442, which are identical, and 
SB 329.  The cumulative effects of the provisions of all these bills should be considered, 
rather than each bill in isolation. 

 



  

Date:   03/31/04 /  rwh 

Document:  G:\LEGIS\Fis-04\Sb384er.Doc   Dick Hall-Sizemore 

 
cc:  Secretary of Finance 
  Secretary of Administration 


