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1. Bill Number   SB 329 

 House of Origin  Introduced  Substitute  Engrossed 

 Second House  In Committee  Substitute  Enrolled 
 

2. Patron Stolle 
 

3.  Committee Passed both houses. 
 

4. Title Driving while intoxicated 

 

5. Summary/Purpose:   
  
  The proposed legislation expands the penalties for DUI in two types of cases: 
 
 Unreasonable refusal to submit to a blood or breath test 
 
  Under current law, a person who unreasonably refuses to consent to having his blood and 

breath tested for alcohol content is subject to having his driver’s license suspended for one 
year.  The proposed legislation would make it a misdemeanor offense to refuse a breath or 
blood test if a person had had prior convictions, within ten years, of DUI or refusal to take a 
breath or blood test.  If there had been one such prior offense, the refusal to take a breath or 
blood test would be a Class 2 misdemeanor, subject to a sentence in jail of up to six months.  
In the case of two or more prior offenses, it would be a Class 1 misdemeanor, which carries a 
sentence of up to twelve months in jail.  In both situations, in addition to imposing a criminal 
sentence, the court could suspend the offender’s driver’s license for three years. 

 
 Driving after license suspended or revoked 

  Under the current provisions of law, the criterion for being deemed as driving while 
intoxicated (DWI) is a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher.   

  Regardless of compliance with any other restrictions on his privilege to drive, the 
proposed legislation would make it a Class 1 misdemeanor for anyone meeting the following 
criteria to drive a vehicle: 

• Having a suspended, restricted, or revoked driver’s license as a result of DWI 
violations, and 

• Having a BAC of 0.02 percent or more. 

  An offender would be subject to the provisions relating to the refusal to submit to a blood or 
breath test. 



6. Fiscal Impact Estimates:  Final.  See Item 8. 

Expenditure Impact: 

Fiscal Year Dollars Fund 

2004-05 $5,840 General 
2005-06 $5,840 General 
2006-07 $5,840 General 
2007-08 $5,840 General 
2008-09 $5,840 General 
2009-10 $5,840 General 

 

7. Budget amendment necessary:   Yes.  Item 67. 
  

8. Fiscal implications:    
 
  Pursuant to Sec. 30-19.1:4 of the Code of Virginia, the Virginia Criminal Sentencing 

Commission has determined that the proposed legislation would not require an appropriation 
related to the increase in the number of prison beds projected to result from this legislation. 

 
  However, due to the new misdemeanors created by this legislation, there would likely be 

an increase in the number of persons held in local and regional jails.  For each person held in 
jail awaiting trial, the Commonwealth reimburses the localities $8.00 per day.  Due to the 
limitations in the available data, the Virginia Criminal Sentencing Commission was not able 
to project the bill’s impact on jail bed space.  However, based on analyses of similar 
legislation, the staff of the Commission estimated that the legislation could result in a need 
for 2-5 jail beds annually.  The fiscal impacts noted in Item 6 are the additional per diem 
payments the Commonwealth would be obligated to pay localities, if there were an increase 
of two beds.  

 
9. Specific agency or political subdivisions affected:    
  
 Compensation Board 
 Local and regional jails 
 Department of Motor Vehicles 
 

10. Technical amendment necessary:   None. 
  
11. Other comments:   
  
  There are several other bills that increase other aspects of the penalties for DUI.  These 

include HB 889, HB 1132, and SB 442, which are identical, and SB 384.  The cumulative 
effects of the provisions of all these bills should be considered, rather than each bill in 
isolation. 
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