- Code of Virginia
- Virginia Administrative Code
- Constitution of Virginia
- Uncodified Acts
- RIS Users (account required)
- Bills & Resolutions
- Bill Summaries
- Reports to the General Assembly
House and Senate documents
Developed and maintained by the Division of Legislative Automated Systems.
HB 1907 Handheld personal communications devices; mandatory minimum fine when convicted of reckless driving.
SUMMARY AS ENACTED WITH GOVERNOR'S RECOMMENDATION: (all summaries)
Driving while texting; primary offense; increased penalties. Provides that driving while texting is a traffic infraction punishable, for a first offense, by a fine of $125 and, for a second or subsequent offense, by a fine of $250. The current penalties are $20 for a first offense and $50 for a second or subsequent offense. The bill also increases the punishment of any person convicted of reckless driving to include a $250 mandatory minimum fine if the person was texting at the time of the reckless driving offense. The bill also changes the offense from a secondary offense (one that can only be charged when the offender is stopped for another, separate offense) to a primary offense. The bill also provides that the Department of Criminal Justice Services shall make training on such offenses available to state and local law-enforcement agencies. The bill incorporates HB 1357, HB 1360, HB 1495, HB 1540, HB 1848, and HB 1883 and is identical to SB 1222.