- Code of Virginia
- Virginia Administrative Code
- Constitution of Virginia
- Uncodified Acts
- RIS Users (account required)
- Bills & Resolutions
- Bill Summaries
- Reports to the General Assembly
House and Senate documents
Developed and maintained by the Division of Legislative Automated Systems.
SB 239 Child abuse and neglect; mandatory reporting, penalties.
SUMMARY AS PASSED: (all summaries)
Suspected child abuse and neglect; mandatory reporting; penalties. Adds individuals associated with or employed by any public organization responsible for the care, custody, or control of children and any person employed by a public or private institution of higher education, other than an attorney employed by a public or private institution of higher education who gains information indicating reason to suspect a child is abused or neglected in the course of providing legal representation to a client, to the list of individuals required to report suspected child abuse or neglect; reduces the time limit for reporting suspected child abuse or neglect by mandated reporters from 72 hours to 24 hours; increases the penalty for a second or subsequent failure to report from not less than $100 nor more than $1,000 to a fine of not less than $1,000; provides that, in cases evidencing acts of rape, sodomy, or object sexual penetration, a person who knowingly and intentionally fails to make the required report shall be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor; and provides that no mandatory reporter shall be required to make a report if the person has actual knowledge that the same matter has already been reported to the local department or via the Department's toll-free child abuse and neglect hotline. This bill incorporates SB 265, SB 296, SB 303, and SB 622.